Dear Finnigan

Listen buddy, I need you to know something. You are three, very quickly going on four here in May. You are very good at being “that” toddler. You know the one. The kid screaming in the grocery store with the mother who looks like she wants to just leave you in the cart in the isle and run away screaming and crying herself. Yeah, that’s us bud. You’re the kid who really didn’t want to share at all, with anybody. Although, surprisingly, sharing seems to have clicked with you recently. You used to eat every vegetable known to man, and lately, I’m lucky if I can get you to eat anything, vegetable or not. You don’t listen to save your life. You wear your “angry face” way too much. You have picked up whining somewhere recently, and I’m hoping this phase goes by quickly, as you’ve never been too whiny in the past. You tell me no to just about everything, even things that I know you like…you booger.  “I need!”  “I want!”  “Gimme!”  Seem to be in every sentence you say lately.

I see the looks people give you in that a fore mentioned grocery store. I also see the looks they give me. You know, as if this is all my fault, and I’m not doing some magic parenting thing that’s so obvious to all of the other mothers. I want to say, “What? Do you have a problem with my son? I’m doing the best I can so stop glaring at me! He’s a three year old boy, a NORMAL three year old boy!” I see the looks some of our family give you, and that hurts the worst. I love that Seanny stops women of all ages in their tracks with his charm and sweetness, but it brakes my heart when they don’t even acknowledge you, sitting right next to him. They don’t see the you I know.

Listen my love, my love, my love. I love you. And Daddy loves you. And Big Sissy loves you. And Seanny loves you. We get to see you snuggling and wrestling with Seanny on the floor and giggling like mad. We get to see you flop down next to Rudey and kiss his head and pet him. Have I mentioned how proud of you I am lately? You are finally learning to be nice to Rudey. We get to see you picking out a fun toy for Seanny with no thought of yourself at the museum gift shop (and you picked out the perfect items too!). I get to hear you say, “Drive carefully Daddy!” each morning to Daddy as he walks out the door, annunciating each syllable perfectly.  I get to see how incredibly excited you get when Sissy gets home from work. (Boy, wish you were that excited when I got home.) We get to see the nutty little sweet nut burger that you are. I remind myself all the time, that the character traits that make me crazy now, are the ones that will make you a brilliant adult.

So here’s what I’m saying Finnigan. I love you. We love you. When you get “the look” from someone, just remember, the important people in your life love you. And we always will. The Nanas and PopPops, the Lawlas and Georges, the Grammys and Pappys, the Aunt Cryssls and Aunt Caseys. We all love you buddy. And as for those disparaging glancers in the grocery store…well, I hope they drop their eggs in the parking lot.

One Response to Dear Finnigan

  1. unadillabarb says:

    Very nice post, Tracey. You used to throw a few fits yourself at that age and I wanted to crawl under the produce department. Once I left my cart where it was and just took you home and put you to bed for a nap. In the words of someone who knew … this, too, shall pass.

    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

