Makeup Myth

I used to date a guy who assumed that make up and coloring my hair was a way to cover up or hide. I had to explain to him that it simply wasn’t so. It’s self expression. It’s art. It’s fun! You get to paint a piece and show it off, then come home and wash your canvas and do it all over again. It took some convincing, but he finally got it.

This seems to be a pretty common belief among you guys so I thought I’d take a minute to explain a few things. I’m sure there are lots of girls out there who feel as though they are not pretty unless they wear make up. And for some women who struggle with rosacea or acne, make up might be that little thing they need to feel comfortable in their own skin. For me, as I’ve said above it’s all about self expression. I think I’m pretty, au natural…from the neck up anyway. I’m working hard to love the bottom half, but that’s another blog post altogether.

I enjoy color and the different looks I can achieve.  My make up mirrors my mood.  I’m generally a pretty perky, nutty person.  I love to splash that across my face.  Wearing make up affects how I feel too.  Crappy, rainy, blah day?  Lets throw on some bright, sunny yellow eyes.  Date night with my hubby?  Something sultry and alluring, gotta keep those home fires burning!  Play date at the park with the kids?  Ha, skip it, I’m just going to sweat it all off anyway.

Plus there is something in the act of applying that make up that is both soothing and therapeutic, even cathartic.  If it’s been a crazy day and I have somewhere to go in the evening, I use the time that I am applying my make up to decompress. I let go of the baggage of that day as I prepare myself for whatever I’m doing that evening.

Wearing make up is also a way that I use to take care of myself.  I make time just for me.  It’s hard to put together a great look with my kids swarming all over me, so it forces me to set aside some time just for me, whether it’s first thing in the morning or while they are napping.

As for make up being a way to hide, or to cover up.  Well, maybe it is for some people, but when you are wearing the bright colors and eye looks that I love to wear…lets just say it takes a certain amount of moxy to leave the house.  Neon pink, orange, and yellow eyelids, plus a fauxhawk don’t exactly blend in.  You are asking people to look at you when you wear this kind of make up, and in that you are also putting yourself out there to be judged.  I get stopped all the time by women who tell me they love my look, but don’t feel confident enough to pull it off themselves.  I always find this a bit surprising, although it shouldn’t be.  As I said above, you open yourself up to judgement wearing bold color, and to pull it off, you really need to be sure of who you are.  Being thick skinned doesn’t hurt either, because for as many times as I’ve been stopped for a compliment, there are probably ten other sneers/gawks/or stares.

At the end of the day though, I know that what’s most important is how I feel about my make up.  And I feel pretty awesome about it.

2 Responses to Makeup Myth

  1. Gigi says:

    I’m past the age of powder and paint. Never could get the hang of it and the few times I tried it I didn’t like it. When I quit coloring my gray hair [afterall I am a grandmother/greatgrandmother about 30 different ways] Grandpa was alway looking for a ‘little gray haired lady’ when we’d get separated in the store. So I tried coloring my hair again so I wouldn’t be that little old gray haired lady and he never said anything about it. So I used a dab of lipstick [tinted chapstick] once in awhile and go around as the little gray haired lady. . What you see is what you get . . . . wrinkles and all. . Gigi

  2. traceyleezle says:

    And I love what I see Gigi. You are so awesome, and beautiful, and lovely. No make up needed. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

