Smoothies!

We’ve been living off of smoothies lately. I can’t remember how it all got started, but knowing me, it’s because they are easy and I am lazy. You just chuck a bunch of stuff in a blender, and whoosh! Instant breakfast/lunch/snack! I have a few picky eaters in this house, I think I’ve mentioned it before, and smoothies are a great way to hide veggies so the four year old gets a good dose without even knowing it. Best part, it’s always the veggie packed smoothies in which he asks for seconds. I get asked all the time what my recipes are, so here you go:

One blender

Add 2 cups of milk

8-12 ice cubes

Now open your refrigerator/freezer and start chucking in veggies and fruit.

Blend

Add stevia to taste, blend again.

Yep, that’s it! I put everything in smoothies:  all varieties of fresh and frozen fruit (frozen works best as you get that nice milk shake quality to it), frozen and fresh spinach, yogurt, wheat grass, peanut butter, cocoa powder, carrots, radishes, cooked beans (I especially like white beans, as their flavor is mild and it’s a great way to add natural fiber and protein to a smoothie), kale, and even more fresh, nutrient packed veggies. However I won’t list them all, because I’m sure my family would stop drinking them if they knew how good they are for you.

In the evenings, smoothies are a fantastic way to curb my cravings for ice cream. Evenings are my downfall to good eating. I can eat perfectly all day, and then the evening rolls around and I get the munchies so bad. I usually end up undoing all that good eating I did during the day.

OK, here’s a recipe for a real smoothie, and one of our favorites, and it’s uber healthy!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

Add to a blender:

2 cups of ice cold milk

10 ice cubes

1/2 cup of plain yogurt

1/2 cup of natural (no sugar, just peanuts) peanut butter

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

2-3 extra ripe bananas broken into 2 inch pieces

Blend until smooth

Add stevia to taste

Blend again.

Serve and enjoy!

5 Responses to Smoothies!

  1. Gigi says:

    Yes, I’ve had a few since coming home from the visit to your nest. Thanks for the idea and more recipies. Gigi

  2. Courtney K. says:

    The second recipe, does that serve your whole family? I’m curious because I only have a Magic Bullet and the regular sized cups. I just want to make sure before I start dumping stuff in the cup that it’ll fit. :-) It sounds amazing and I can’t wait to try it! Andy did something similar but used protein powder instead of cocoa powder and it’s turned out amazing!

  3. unadillabarb says:

    Loved your smoothies while we were down for Mother’s Day. I don’t have a blender and I threw away the stupid stick blender that wouldn’t stay together. My food processor is a 12 Cup model so I don’t know if that would work or not. It would make my hubby happy to see me using it instead of it collecting dust on the counter.

  4. Started drinking smoothies on chemo days instead of coffee. They have them at the Lourdes coffee shop. So far I have tried strawberry/mango and a green smoothie. Both were quite yummy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

