Secret Pal 9

Hello Secret Pal! Here is my questionnaire which I will put under the category of Secret Pal 9 in case you need to reference it in the future.

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
I adore wool and all other natural fibers. Any size, I am really big into socks and hand-paints right now, but have been known to swoon over barn wool as well. I can’t stand eyelash yarn. Ack, I made everyone at work scarves with that junk one year and I haven’t touched it since. The same with chenille. Ack, too many bad memories. I also despise self-patterning sock yarn. I love self-striping sock yarn. Other than that I am not picky at all.
2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?

Right now they are all akimbo in two glass urns with lovely cobalt blue marbles in the bottom (leftovers from my wedding this past summer). I have one for my straights and one for my dpn’s. I also have a basket for my circulars. I like them on display. Although not so much the circulars. I really hate the tangled mess in my basket. Oh well.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I have been knitting for 18 years, I learned when I was 9, my Grandma B. tortured me endlessly by making me sit still for a WHOLE fifteen minutes and do nothing but knit. It was the best gift anyone has ever given me.

I really started knitting things other than scarves ten years ago when my daughter was born. I would say my level is intermediate/advanced depending on the project, but I do pick things up very quickly.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?

Hmm, not yet, but I do have several lists which I will be posting on my blog soon.

5. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products, etc.)

Hands down, Lily-of-the-Valley, it is so light and fresh, so green smelling.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?

I DO have a sweet tooth. I love all kinds of dark chocolate. A favorite? Not yet.

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?

I spin with my drop spindles. I have several, right now all I do is spin. I have no idea to how to take what I’ve spun and ply it into something usable. I am saving up for a spinning wheel. All my spare change goes in my piggy bank. I sew, I bead on occasion. I want to start dying my own yarn as well.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)

I really appreciate all kinds of music, I don’t appreciate most rap and r&b though. I don’t like the way that women are portrayed in that particular genre. I love opera, classical, techno, folk, country, rock, broadway hits, whatever! If it’s not rap, chances are I’ll love it. I love to try new sounds too. I love NPR’s Prairie Home Companion w/ Gerison Keiler. I grew up listening to him. Yep, computer is good to go.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?

I adore pink in every shade! I really don’t have any colors I don’t like, although I don’t knit much black as it washes me out. I’m a pale-skinned redhead.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?

I am recently married to an amazing guy, this past July 1st. Our wedding got flooded out from my hometown back in NY, we had to re-plan and move it to PA within 3 days and pray that some of my family could make it. Most of the roads had washed out.

I have an amazing little 10 year old girl from a previous shot gun wedding. I was 16, he was 18. Nuff said. She is the coolest, brightest little Monkey and my most treasured of God’s blessings. Besides which, she is very cool, and I am not. I feel ubercool just to be in her presence. =P

I have two dogs, one who is a fat golden retriever/husky mix. He is the normal one. He is the “good boy”. He is my blonde angel. His name is Simon, he’s really my daughter’s dog, and my baby. The other’s name is JinBao, he is the dumbest birthday present I have ever received. I love him dearly though. He is really not right in the head. He whines and scratches the refrigerator whenever the ice maker turns on. He chases his tail until he’s out of breath and then stops and gives you this, “What?” look. He snuggles with you and shoves his head in your armpit. He’s just….well, we aren’t even really sure he’s a dog. His papers say he is a pure-bread Chinese Crested Powder Puff, but we’re pretty sure he’s half prairie dog half martian. Anyway, they are my babies, and I love them. My husband has even accused me of loving them more than him…I plead the fifth.

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?

All of the above.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?

Oooh, right now, socks. But I have been eyeing that new pattern on ChicKnits, Ariann. I have this great orangy colored worsted that I think would look great for fall.

13. What are you knitting right now?

Socks and mittens. I am participating in Socktoberfest and the Warm Hands KAl.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

I do! I feel honored to be gifted with one of the most precious gifts someone can give, their time and talent.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?

I am really enjoying my addi turbos right now. I just recently learned how to knit with 2 circ’s so that is my latest craze. I have 2 pairs of #2’s and two pairs of #1’s so far. I love how fast they are, they just don’t even compare to my ‘ol Susan Bates. I do like bamboos too. I guess it all depends on what yarn I am working with.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?

I do own a yarn winder, I use it frequently, my daughter loves to wind and re-wind skeins all the time. I do not own a swift.

17. How old is your oldest UFO?

Oh boy, can I lie? Hmm, at least 5 years, it may be 6. It’s a purple hoodie for myself.

18. What is your favorite holiday?

Hands down…Christmas! My family is absolutely loony about Christmas. We go all out. I love the spiritual celebration of our messiah’s birth. I love the weather (snow addict). I love the family. I love the smells! I love the whole shebang!

19. Is there anything that you collect?

Dust…oh wait, you meant on purpose. Hmm, nope, not really. I do collect NY winery wines. I love Goosewatch and Swedish Hill. Pick up a bottle if you feel so inclined, you won’t be disappointed. My father used to be an amateur vintner.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?

I gave up my subscription to Interweave Knits and Vogue. I didn’t find the patterns inspiring anymore. I love my addi turbos and would love more of those. I love Socks That Rock, I haven’t found a colorway that I don’t want. I really love the Ribbi Cardi pattern and the Ariann pattern on ChicKnits. Don’t have those yet.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?

Fair Isle…I find it intimidating.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?

I am a sock knitter. I am an 8 1/2 (US).

23. When is your birthday? (mm/dd)

July 11th

One Response to Secret Pal 9

  1. Kerry says:

    Could you please contact me ASAP? I tried sending an email to your main email addresse and it was returned and I’ve not had a response to the message I sent to your anonymous account. I need to get a working email and confirm that you still want to participate in SP9. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

