Socktoberfest Questionnaire

OK, I have removed all the pics from my blog thus far, because, as my hubby pointed out, “Boy honey, I hope whoever reads your blog has broadband.” I have not been resizing the pics for web pages. Hmm, you’d think living with a computer technician I would know these things. Nope, but now I do. So, I will be resizing them and putting them up again. Doh! Still learning.

  • When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
  • I learned by myself, Bonne Marie posted a great link, socks 101, to an easy sock pattern back in January of 2003. I remember there was a sock kal for super bowl going on or something and so I thought, what the heck.

  • What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?
  • My first pair I actually made for my Dad with the afore mentioned pattern. He loves them and is wearing them to pieces.

  • What would you have done differently?
  • I would have taken the time to learn the kitchener stitch first. I cannot think of socks without it now.

  • What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
  • Socks That Rock, hands down, it is so nice to knit with, great hand, fabulous colorways, very soft.

  • Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
  • Ack! Crochet! Nay, I am a recently converted 2 circ. girl, it used to be all DPN’s.

  • Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?)
  • So far the flap, I haven’t done a short-row…yet.

  • How many pairs have you made?
  • 6 pairs, gosh, that really doesn’t seem like a lot.

    2 Responses to Socktoberfest Questionnaire

    1. Julie says:

      I think 6 pair seems like a lot considering you just started kntiting socks in 2003. It takes me forever to finish a pair! (I missed out on the sign up for Socktoberfest and all this sock talk is making me so jealous!!)

    2. wow 6 pairs! You go girl : )

    Leave a Reply

