Autumn in Pennsylvania

It is mid October and back home the leaves have turned, burning palates color the hillsides of my native NY. The air is crisp and full of the promise of winter. The sun is bright and colors all it touches with a honeyed hue. When you walk down the sidewalks you swish through the leaves. Here in Pennsylvania the trees are still green, some have begun to blush, others have simply dropped their leaves. Today was the first day of real “autumnal air” and I am told this is unseasonably cold. I am so homesick for NY weather these days. It’s odd, it’s only about 4 1/2 hours away from my hometown and yet the climates are so different. Despite the wishes of my fellow Pennsylvanians, I am secretly praying for an unseasonably snowy winter here.

I finished the first Belated Birthday sock by the light of our laptop on route to the bi-weekly kid swap last night. We meet halfway with the monkey’s dad, it’s 2 1/2 hours of uninterrupted knitting time. Here it is, in some of the last flowers of the season.

bbsocks-custom.JPG

…and the thrift shop yarn, I still need to wash it, has anyone heard of this stuff before? The label says it’s BEEHIVE imported from Scotland.

thriftshopyarn-custom.JPG

thriftshopyarn2-custom.JPG

…and of course I went to the LYS today to pick up some yarn for Christmas presents. I can’t say for whom, but it’s all socks except the pink and purple Andean wool.

stash-custom.JPG

2 Responses to Autumn in Pennsylvania

  1. your thrift store yarn is really neat! Love the yarn you picked up for Christmas gifts, you have lots of lucky people on your gift list this year!
    btw, If you say its warm over on your side of the state.. I’m, I’m, I’m just, not going to be very happy with you! There I said it.
    its freeeeeezing over here. Freeeeeezing!

  2. Mom says:

    Hey! That one sock looks pretty good, but another sock just like it and a picture of them on my feet would be really cool on this blog!

Leave a Reply

