NY antibodies+PA germs=One Sick Monkey

I am really getting tired of being sick and tired, between the two of us the monkey and I have been sick since September! Our bodies are wired to deal with NY germs and well, we aren’t in NY anymore so we are struggling to re-wire in the middle of cold season. Well unfortunately the monkey got the worst of it.

Thursday she was complaining of a scratchy throat but that was it, so I sent her to school. At 10:30 I got a call at work from the school nurse, “Elizabeth has a temperature of 102 and is really sick.” Ok, I say, I will be there in fifteen minutes. I drop everything and run. When I get to the school this little monkey comes out of the office a paper white face and bright bright red cheeks. So we come home and I start her flip-flopping Motrin and Tylenol every 3 hours and pumping fluids into her. That evening around dinner time her fever was down to 99.6 and she looked and sounded much better. I went and did a little shopping and came home around 9:00. She was still doing good when I put her to bed. Fast forward to 11:00.

I just got up from the couch to go give her more Motrin and take her temp when this pale, gray lipped child walked out of the hallway. She said, “Mommy, what’s happening to me, I can’t stop shaking and I’m not cold.” I immediately herded her back to the bedroom and back into bed where I poke the thermometer in her mouth. She was shaking so hard. I held her hands while we waited and noticed that they were GRAY! The thermometer didn’t stop at 104 so I went out of her room and then ran down the hall and told the DH, “Get your shoes on we are going to the ER!” I dosed her with Motrin, got her in the car and flew to the hospital, my back didn’t touch the car seat once I was so tense. I just kept praying, “Lord Jesus, break this fever and get us to the ER safely”. I was in crisis Mom mode.

When we got there they put her in a room and she was seen pretty quickly. The doctor dosed her with more Motrin to get the fever to respond and ordered tests for flu, strep, and mono. So after the blood work was done we waited on the lab watching rodeo on the TV in our room. She was so brave when they did bloodwork, I’m such a chicken when it comes to needles. Her fever spiked again and she developed this bright red sand papery rash all over her body. The doctor came back and said all the tests came back negative but when I showed her the rash she said the strep test must have been wrong because strep is indicated by a sand paper feeling rash.

So I was told she was big enough to have adult doses of Motrin and Tylenol now. We got some penacillin and went home at 2:30 in the morning. Her fever spiked again twice on Friday but is finally under control now. Today she is doing so much better, I think the penacillin is kicking in. We are praying that those NY antibodies are PA antibodies now. We are pretty sick and tired of being sick and tired!

2 Responses to NY antibodies+PA germs=One Sick Monkey

  1. The poor Monkey, I certainly hope she’s feeling better!

  2. Jane says:

    It is so scary when little ones spike those high fevers. I hope you are all through with being sick for the rest of the season, and that your little Monkey’s recovery is fast.

Leave a Reply

