Hello Possums!

Well, my Gigi, the coolest grandma in the world, Grandpa, and my Mom were going to come down and visit us this weekend. Now mind you this weather has absolutely stunk for us snow lovers and so we thought, “Meh, no winter, good time for travel.” OH WAIT, nope, sorry, apparently somewhere along their drive there is supposed to be freezing rain on the day they would be driving home. Drats! My family and I were really looking forward to a visit. I haven’t seen Gigi since Thanksgiving. That’s a long time to go without seeing Gigi, if you knew her you would agree. My boss even asks me when she’s going to get to see Gigi again! And I haven’t seen Grandpa since then either! I saw mom briefly the day after Christmas and I really want to spend some time with her. I WANT MY MOMMY! 😦 So we are moving into the weekend very disappointed.

As for the cardigan? Well possums, would you believe that tonight, yes tonight, I will be seaming it up and putting in the zipper? Oh my, aren’t we excited. I can assure you that there will be pictures, BUT the weather is not cooperating and so it may be a while before I can get a good picture. I am sooo excited. I can’t even tell you how many possibilities this opens up now that I have all but SPAT in the face of my almighty sweater curse! I am already planning my newest project…and of course socks, I need socks for me.

OK, some personal info: About 10 years ago I was in a very, very, very bad car accident that I am very lucky to have lived through. I now live with 2 titanium rods that run the entire length of my right leg and I have many screws in there too. The weather affects me terribly, any sudden movement of the barometer and my bursitis kicks in…I am 80 years old, lol. ANYWAY, my point in telling you this is that I wear out shoes fast because I always walk with a slight limp. I got the greatest pair of shoes yesterday, not only are they KEEN’s so they can handle my cockly walk, BUT they are perfect shoes to wear with handknit socks! Yay!

newshoes2.jpg

Completely switching gears here, stay with me possums (can you tell I’ve been watching Dame Edna?) I have noticed quite a bit on other blogs about knitting from your stash this year. Well, seeing everyone else’s stash has made me realize something. Mine is pitiful. My goal this year will be to BUILD my stash, that’s right folks, no stash reduction here!

Gigi, Grandpa, Mom….I miss you guys, wish you were coming.

And because I can’t help myself, a picture of my cute FuzzyBriches begging for a belly rub.

fuzzanddad.jpg

7 Responses to Hello Possums!

  1. That sucks about your mom and grandparents not being able to come in, but better safe than sorry I suppose.

    If you do not post a FO picture because of bad light I may have to hunt you down and… and… tangle all your yarn and bend/break all your knitting needles. AND hide all your patterns.

    OK, I’m not a shoe person by any means (I own 2 pairs of shoes, dress and weekend) but those are damn cute.

  2. maryse says:

    those shoes are so cute.

  3. Brigitte says:

    Oh, hello cute shoes! Hey, thanks for your comments on my blog… Heh, uh, right. Um, not everything in my stash is uh, in the picture… Couldn’t get the stuff under the bed, or the uh, computer box in the other room.

    Who knows – if you need it, I may have it!

    Boo about your parents and grandparents not making it down, hopefully soon. Take care!

  4. Bonne Marie says:

    I lurv your Keens! Vey Chic! Now let’s see some hand knit sockies…

  5. Chris says:

    I’m sorry you won’t get to see your family – I hope those spiffy Keens cheer you up. I have the same shoes! 🙂

  6. gigi says:

    If the new shoes are anything like my gardening shoes you’ll live in them. I have a pair on my front porch for walking out to feed the birds and Aunt Brenda gave me Jessica’s – silly girl doesn’t know how comfortable they are.

  7. stupid weather! Those are *the* cutest shoes I’ve seen, they are going to show off your socks very well! 😀

Leave a Reply

