Distractions

Yes, I’m still here. These past few days have been rather busy and filled with a myriad of distractions, ranging from knitting, spinning, company banquets, video games, and even an industry audit. Phew…what do you mean it’s only Tuesday?!? Let’s see, where to begin.

Saturday was our annual company banquet. I arranged the entertainment for it including a comedian from Ohio and a couple of games. One game was great we had a race with hubbies and wives. The wives had to unwrap a roll of life savers and stick them to their hubbies faces by licking the life savers. The first hubby with the whole package on their face won! Very funny. The monkey even played with my friend, Mel. See? Tasty!

lifesaver-custom.JPG

Then of course I picked up the Burning Crusade Expansion pack for World of Warcraft and I have been busy making new characters, exploring new lands, and leveling up Vashavi. And get this: I name most of my characters after my favorite yarns, below are Tahki and Noro. I love this game. It’s addictive, no really, there are support groups. But, I’m cool, I can quit any time I want. Really, I can….why are you looking at me like that?

tahki2.jpg

noro.jpg

I finally went out and bought a decent drop spindle that has good balance to it, and picked up some merino roving to play with as well. It’s SOOOOO soft, but kinda hard to spin with a drop spindle as the staple is so long. It doesn’t draft real easy. Fun none the less, and I can’t wait to make something warm and cozy with my own homespun.

spindle-custom.JPG

Also I started another ChicKnits cardi, the Scoup Du Jour. I love it, this one is being made in some “sheepy wool” from Bartlett Yarn. This is another one that’s knitting up very quickly. It’s to keep me occupied until I save enough money to purchase the yarn I want for Ariann.

scoopdujour-custom.JPG

Then of course there is Monkey. I am having so much fun knitting this pattern. Seriously, I haven’t had this much fun knitting a sock since before Christmas. I love the colorway, I love the lace pattern. It’s going to be my first pair of socks for me in a long long time.

monkeysock-custom.JPG

Today we had an industry audit at work to become accredited. My good friend poured a lot of work into it and deserves a big fat bonus for all the work she did. I just stood back and out of the way and managed the phones for the day. It still managed to end up being a rather stressful day. In the end, it went very well and we passed with flying colors.

Ok, I am going to go play my video game some more…I will check back with you tomorrow. Hey, quit snickering…oh fine, it’s ok for me to be addicted to yarn, but a video game? I see…EMBRACE YOUR INNER GEEK! Or I’ll blast you with my frostbolt!

tahki.jpg

4 Responses to Distractions

  1. Bonne Marie says:

    SNORT! You are really cracking me up!

    First the Life Saver’s Portrait – then the WofW names –

    Go Noro!

  2. Dork.

    And you know I mean that in the kindest way….

    Dork.

  3. Brigitte says:

    Heh heh… you know you can quit any time… LOL! That’s what they say about knitting! Dude. Think about it.

    Must. Resist. Urge. To. Learn. To. Spin.

  4. Chris says:

    Whew! I feel exhausted just reading about all of that!!! When do you find time for the WoW support group meetings? 😉

Leave a Reply

