Oh Praise the Lord it’s the weekend!

Man what a week! An industry audit this past Tuesday made Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday nearly unbearable at work. I also had some sad and frustrating goings on at home. I will not go into details here, but I will say this, being a parent is the hardest and most under-appreciated job in the world. There are things that you want your children to understand, but they can’t and they won’t until it’s their turn to be parents. So, having said that, Thank you to my parents, I get it now. You did a good job and sometimes that meant me not being awfully fond of you, but you were only doing what was best for me.

Anyway, I digress, this Thursday was particularly rough, but the evening was softened and lightened when I went to the PO and found this waiting for me. My final package from my SP9. My awesome Secret Pal was the one and only “Pooch” from Yarn Knit Read Lit. I can’t even begin to tell you what a pleasure it has been receiving your emails and the wonderful packages you put together. I look forward to reading more of your inspiring blog and getting to know you. Thanks so much…..and one more thing. Quit hogging all the snow!

img_0265-custom.JPG

I love the 365 stitches a year. I was just checking that out at B&N.com the other day. The chocolate mints are scrumptious and I won’t mention how many of them are gone already. Not pictured in this picture is an “E” sticky pad for the Monkey and a pair of very sweet gold cross earrings….yep, the Monkey won that argument. I get to “borrow” them every now and then. I really LOVE the circular needle holder! I can finally get this mess cleaned up now.

messycirc-custom.JPG

Hee hee, now that you have all picked yourselves up off the floor…that isn’t even all of them, there are 2 pairs here on my computer desk, 2 pairs in my knitting bag and a pair on the end table in the living room. Thank you!

Also during the Monkey swap last night we swung by B&N for coffee before hitting the road again and I picked up a couple of books for myself.

bnbooks-custom.JPG

Seeeee Kelly? Arent’ you proud of me? I am a big fan of the B&N classic book series. It’s a great way to pick up all the classics you “meant” to read, for a very good price. I spent an entire summer reading several of them. I am still finishing Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. It’s an incredible read, but I don’t really like the main character, Anna, that much. Is it bad to wish the main character would die off? I do love Levin and Kitty…read it, it’s great. The other book I picked up is the New Living Translation of the Holy Bible. I got a chance to read from one a while back and I really loved the translation. It flows better, it’s almost like reading a novel. I like to read several different translations if I am looking at a specific verse, that way I can really get the full meaning of it. When I am reading the books though, I want something that moves better, and this is it. I also liked the size, very portable.

Oh, and Pooch…I love Under The Tuscan Sun too, I always want to go to Italy after watching it. Instead I just drag out my favorite Italian cookbook.

6 Responses to Oh Praise the Lord it’s the weekend!

  1. Pooch says:

    Glad that you and E worked out a plan for the earrings! Aren’t you proud that she’s willing to share?! Now, I’m thinking that I should have ordered two of the circs holders. I have a system, but that little case is too nifty to pass up, so I think we’ll have have matching cases soon.
    Here’s the deal on the snow: if you want some, you must take the 8-degree temps as well! Think about it, do you really want that?!

    Have a lovely weekend—blessings.
    🙂

  2. Chris says:

    What a fun swap package – and it sounds perfectly timed to cheer you up.

  3. Awesome swap package! I’m jealous. 🙂

    Hurray! You bought the book!

    Now READ it.

  4. Brigitte says:

    Glad it’s the weekend is right! Hope you’re having a good one – how can you not with all those pressies, (and After Eights – yum yum!!!!).

  5. Great package!! mmmm, after 8’s. I love those! Can eat a whole box in one night! : D The circ organizer looks interesting. And that is one *very* scary looking basket girl!!

  6. Mom says:

    I just finished my copy of “Under the Tuscan Sun” that I bought from B&N with Christmas giftcard. Amazing! I’m going to go get my passport. I had Nancy Marcello order the next two books: “Bella Tuscany” and “In Tuscany” which takes you further into her adventure of life in Tuscany. Add them to your list, Tracey … you’ll love it! I’d loan you my copy, but I use her recipes that she gives. The movie is very loosely (and I mean loose) based on her book.
    Love, Mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

