Beam Me Up Scotty!

My darling hubby is a Trekkie. He has seen all the episodes, owns all the movies, many in “special edition” or “directors cut”. He has all of The Next Generation on DVD and several other versions as well. Memorabilia? Oh yes, we have memorabilia. Christmas ornaments that are ships or characters. Models of ships. A flag. Collector’s Plates. Collector’s Cards. Key chains. The list goes on. Now since I married this man, I accepted the fact that it would only be a matter of time before I was sucked into this phenomenon as well. So, I’m going to Trekkie School.

This past weekend, we decided to start with the movies. There are 9 of them, I am on movie number 5 and I am loving it. I have a small trekkie past. I watched the Next Generation religiously, growing up, and for a while I wanted to marry Worf.

worf.jpg

So it is not hard for me to really get into this. All week I have been saying things like, “Damn it Jim, I’m just a doctor.”…”That is illogical.”…”He did a little too much LDS in the 60’s” Anyway, suffice it to say, I am having a blast and loving this. Do I see a convention in my future? Not yet, but I will tell you one thing, Star Trek has helped me find my knitting mojo again. I made some serious headway on my Scoop Du Jour Cardi over the last few days. Yay!

Pictures will be beamed up later this week.

“Engage!”

8 Responses to Beam Me Up Scotty!

  1. Brigitte says:

    I so wanted Jean-Luc Picard to rescue me from *something*… I am such a Trekkie too *sigh*.

  2. But I mean that in a loving way. 🙂

  3. polly says:

    i love star trek too but generally not so much the movies. i love watching reruns of the original series.

  4. Bonne Marie says:

    Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor not a bricklayer!

    [No better way to kick-A** speed knit than some good Star Trek – beam me up, Scottie!]

  5. Olga says:

    You have to go over to you-tube and click onto “Spocks’s Crib” the directors cut, Its Hee-lar-re-es!!! Oh, I LOOOOVE the whole Star Trek epic. I use to have a Spock jacket, wish I still did, I could sell it on e-bay and pay for my kids college education.

  6. Norma says:

    Oh, you know, we haven’t watched Star Trek here in quite a while. Maybe we had our fill of it for a while, but you’ve made me have a yen for it now. Nice blog! Thanks for visiting mine so I could find you.

  7. Chris says:

    TNG and DS9 were the only ones I really got into. Altho… I did go to a ST convention when I was 15 – and that was long before TNG. Of course, I’d only read the James Blish novelizations and not seen the actual episodes. And, um, I might’ve had a ST poem or two published in fanzines back then…

Leave a Reply

