You spin me right round, baby, right round…..you get it.

So we bought this great shedding tool for Simon the other day, well, because he sheds…alot. It’s called the Furminator and it’s worth every penny. If you have a hairy shaggy dog, you need this tool.

simon fuzzy butt

Here’s the funny thing, I have always wanted to spin Simon’s hair because, after trying it once I found that it spins up absolutely beautifully. The color is a light fawn and it’s soooo soft. Eat your heart out merino. The problem was that even if I saved what I brushed off of him after his bath each time, it would take me years to save up enough fiber to amount to anything. (Now ask me that after vacuuming and see what I say). Anywho, after last night’s first run in with the furminator I have decided to revisit the idea of spinning Simon’s fur. See why?

hairy simon fur

Because after all, who wouldn’t want a sweater made out of their dog’s hair. My only question is, if I wear it in the rain…will I smell like wet dog?

17 Responses to You spin me right round, baby, right round…..you get it.

  1. Pooch says:

    Dog hair sweater? Beware of people attempting to pet you!

    🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    WOW!! I seriously need to get that for our dog, part husky part german shep and she shed’s ALL the time! I would love to spin her hair.

  3. Chris says:

    Hee hee – the one thing I’ve heard about dog fur yarn is that it always smells like dog if it gets wet. 🙂

  4. Keanalee says:

    I have toyed with the idea of saving my Border Collie’s hair for yarn and thought about the wet dog thing. When we wear wool, do we smell like wet sheep? Just a thought.

  5. Norma says:

    Yes, you will, and people (knitters) get all up in arms over the prospect. But a) how often do you actually wear your sweaters in the rain? and b) have you ever smelled a wet wool sweater? Yup, just like a wet sheep, and none too pretty-smelling. But again, how often do you wear it when it’s soaking wet? I say go for it. 🙂

  6. Brigitte says:

    Oh, I wonder if they have one for cats?! Simon looks soooo relaxed.

    My sister wants to save up Finnegan’s fur so that I can spin and knit it into something for him. Uh huh.

  7. Simon says:

    *sniff* Well thanks alot, you don’t hear me complaining when you dummies take a shower in the morning, that it smells like wet people! And you shed too mom, those long red hairs aren’t mine.

  8. Mom says:

    Check with your dad. He and Susan had a Norwegian Elkhound and I’m pretty sure she spun the hair and made a pair of mittens, if I remember correctly. 🙂

  9. There was a story in the first KnitLit called “Never Knit Dog.” If you do a Google search for that title, you will find all kinds of knitters and spinners weighing in on whether or not it’s a good idea. I bought the book Knitting with Dog Hair by Kendall Crolius and have a couple of paper bags of fur from our older dog to wash and spin up someday, and that reminds me, I need to go get some more off her now. Good luck, yours looks lovely.

  10. Ummm… how did I not know you have 2 dogs? (Or more…)

    Did I miss a dog acquisition post somewhere along the line? Or is JinBao just the favorite pooch of the house?

  11. Sandy says:

    haha, “furminator”! I love that name! Simon is beautiful!

  12. Cynthia says:

    Another thing I’ve heard about dog fur yarn – it’s supposed to be much warmer than wool. You may want to blend it with wool for that reason and for the extra elasticity of the wool.

    Otherwise, why let such a good resource go to waste!

    I bet Simon feels much better after being furminated.

  13. Amy says:

    WOW! That’s a lot of hair. I wonder if the furminator works on cat hair, too…

  14. Bonne Marie says:

    I always loved giving ye olde Dog a good brushing – but the FURMINATOR! I nominate that tool for the best new get of 2007!!!

  15. *snicker* furminator! That is a lot of fur!

  16. Holly says:

    What a precious dog! I bet a sweater out of the hair would be beautiful, but I’m not sure about the smell. What about a bag or a stuffed animal?

  17. nice dog.. i love furminator much

Leave a Reply

