I’ve been bad…don’t give me that look!

So. I did a sock swap…mmm…last year? I won’t mention which one. It was a lot of fun and I had a great partner who sent me an AWESOME package. Great sock, in a great yarn, great extra goodies…but…one…teeny problem. Shhhh, now I am 99.9% positive that this particular swap buddy doesn’t read my blog, but ya never know, and I’m just apologizing ahead of time just in case. I just didn’t have the heart to say anything but nice things as that’s just me. I’m not a complainer…someone spent their time knitting me a sock and money sending me lovely goodies.

but…It’s big. Too big. I felt so bad because it’s so big and floppy it just doesn’t stay on…well I didn’t know what to do with it so it’s been stuffed in the bottom of my WIP’s basket for, well, quite a while. After my little spring overhaul it resurfaced and I really DO like the yarn. So…I…I…I frogged it…Yes! I know, I know, it’s terrible. I’m a lousy sock buddy. All I can say in my defense is, at least it will have new life and I will be casting on a new sock today.

badgirl

P.S. I was watching Star Trek Voyager last night and I swear I heard Scoop Du Jour whisper, “Seam me up Scotty, there’s no intelligent life down here.” from it’s little basket by the couch. Yeah Yeah Yeah! I will!

10 Responses to I’ve been bad…don’t give me that look!

  1. Emma says:

    Ack! But, hey, if the sock doesn’t fit, you might as well rescue the yarn.

  2. atu says:

    how disappointing to not have it fit. Well done to frog and reknit it.

  3. Olga says:

    Tisk tisk. Now the goverment will put you on that list of bad sock buddies. It was nice reading you…..

  4. keanalee says:

    eh don’t worry about it, you gotta do what you gotta do. I think I made my swap pals way too small.
    —-yes, he’s a pappillon–

  5. *L* love the stick it, lovely yarn. Better to frog and re-knit, than to never love the knit 😉

  6. Chris says:

    Ya gotta do what ya gotta do. And that’s why I won’t do swaps that involve knitting socks for someone else!

  7. sandy says:

    I know that I, as the sock knitter, would really like it if the recipient told me and sent the socks back so I could make another pair or adjustments.
    However. That said. 🙂
    As the recipient? I would never say ANYTHING. Not a peep. I would NEVER send them back. And I’d probably be too chicken to frog them. They’d sit, mocking my chickeness for a lifetime.
    😀
    But. That’s just me!

  8. Amy says:

    OMG!!! I’m so glad you said something, because, um, the sock you sent me? Too big! And I love love love love love love love the yarn and the pattern, and I haven’t had the heart to rip it out. But since you did yours, I’m totally doing mine 🙂

  9. Brigitte says:

    Oh, but you’re still using the sock yarn! So, you’re not bad at all. And it is very lovely yarn…

  10. LOL, confessions of a sock swapper.

    Admittedly, that’s my great fear of sock swaps. That it’ll be too big/small.

    Glad you reclaimed the yarn though. It seems silly not to.

Leave a Reply

