Summer Knitting Goals

Well, it’s that time of year again. The mere thought of working on something big and woolly just makes me break out into a sweat. The heat sure caught up with us fast, of course, that could just be me still getting used to PA. If I were in NY, I’d still be wearing sweaters! I have seen others posting about their summer knitting goals recently and I began to wonder if I needed some of my own. Well yes, yes I do. I want to be special and unique too, just like everybody else.

But first, an FO. A very special FO. It’s not the first pair of socks I have ever knit, by any means. !!BUT!! They are the first pair of socks that ever made it to ME! Can you believe it? They are mine and darn it, I’m not sharing with the Monkey. So here they are. It’s the Little Shells pattern. I adore this pattern, it makes for a very pretty sock, but the pattern repeat is mind numbing enough that you can do it virtually anywhere. So here they are *sniff* they’re so beautiful.

Lets see summer goals…ah yes. I have several which I will list here, since I have not received an invite to Ravelry yet….*sigh*

Goal #1: I really want to get better at spinning now that I have a very nice spindle and some good quality wool. So I want to spin at least one night a week. Last night I popped in the extended version of The Fellowship of The Rings and started spinning. Boy did I get a lot done, and I’m much better at controlling the thickness as I spin. I’m very happy with my results thus
far.

Goal #2: Read Spin to Knit which I saw at Barnes & Noble and picked up from the library last week. I figured when I am done spinning up this lovely merino, I might actually want to know…oh I don’t know…how to ply it?!? Anyway, I will be posting a review when I am done reading it.

Goal #3: Complete the lovely Cece I started while up at camp the other weekend. I love the way this yarn is knitting up and I love the color and it’s from my stash. What can I say, I feel like this cardi is charmed. I must say that this is my first large piece of lacework and I really have to pay attention or else I find myself ripping back to fix a mistake.

Goal #4: Finish my two pairs of swap socks. Well, you all read about the first pair, the one I had to rip out. That one I will be completely reknitting…as soon as I find the pattern again. The second pair, I am in the process of finishing and I love the yarn. So soft. So pretty, and it was custom dyed for me, JinBao Jeweltones, how can you not love that? Did I mention the sock pattern is beautiful too? Yeah, well…it is.

Goal #5: Learn to make socks toe-up (that would include learning short rows). Kelly said I needed to add this to my list of goals…and well, she’s right.

OK, I think that’s enough to leave me feeling guilty come the end of September.

8 Responses to Summer Knitting Goals

  1. Chris says:

    The socks are gorgeous! You definitely better hold on to those.

  2. amandacathleen says:

    Lovely socks! I’m glad that they are for you. Did you use your str in nodding violet? (I think you did, but I’m not sure!) That is a lovely color your using for Cece, and that is a nice variegated yarn your using in your last socks, love the splashes of red!

  3. keanalee says:

    You go girl, spinning looks like fun

  4. Glad you finally claimed a pair of socks for yourself!

    You need to add 1 thing to your list. Try socks toe up. Soooooooo fun!

  5. Pooch says:

    Tracey, I’m sure you will meet your goals and things of beauty as a result! Love that silvery merino!
    šŸ™‚

  6. Brigitte says:

    Oh, I say keep those socks!

    Knitting goals? What is this you speak of? If I’m done *something* by September, I’ll be happy.

  7. Shannon says:

    Those socks are gorgeous, so is your yarn. I just started spinning, yesterday was my first day and it was so lumpy haha. I’m jealous; teach me!

  8. Cynthia says:

    Definitely STR Nodding Violets. Isn’t it lovely stuff. Beautiful socks!

    Plying is fun on a spindle. I usually wind it off onto my ball winder, then ply from the inside and the outside of the ball. No leftovers!

    Toe-up socks – WendyKnits just posted a toe-up sock pattern with a gusset and heel-flap that I’m thinking of trying.

Leave a Reply

