Shhh, my cobweb weight is whispering sweet nothings in my ear

I have been reading a lot of Yarn Harlot lately…a lot. I have been challenged by something repeated in several of her books, “Be scared of sky diving, not knitting.” It occurred to me how foolish I have been as of late. I have professed, here and on several other blogs, of being “scared” of things like fair isle, short rows, steeks, lace. Which is so silly as I have always been very good at figuring out how knitting “works” after the first couple of attempts, and am usually quite successful at whatever I turn my hand too. I got it into my head, finally, that being scared of wool and two needles is nothing short of ridiculous!

I wanted to knit lace, something fine and airy and light. Something that could very well make me blind as I searched on tiny needles for each mite of a stitch. I knew exactly what I was looking for. Hence my purchase at The Mannings (I’m going back this weekend, who wants to come?). Carol helped me pick out this heavenly fiber, Douceur et Soie, for my very first “tiny” lace project.

The Loden and I saw each other, and it spoke to me. “I am the one, let me wrap my silky, whispy halo of warmth around your shoulders, let me settle subtly under your red hair, setting off its auburn hue, let me whisper in your ear of mossy rocks in the cool dark waters of the deep, deep forests.” I was aghast! Who knew cobweb weight could be so seductive. Really, how could I say no. I picked it up and pet it and delicately sniffed it the entire time I walked around the shop. Then I also purchased the size 0 needles. The pattern calls for 00, but, well perhaps my next stole. And I finally have a CHIBI, I feel like a real knitter now…let’s see how long it takes me to lose all the needles that came with it.

A day or two before our trip to The Mannings I had found a gorgeous shetland shawl pattern by the lovely and gracious (it was a free pattern) Eunny Jang. I fell in love, and slightly off the deep end. The stole is beautiful and the pattern is simply lovely, I can’t stop touching it. Of course this photo doesn’t even come close to showing of the loveliness of the Print O’ The Wave pattern, or how truly tiny those stitches really are.

It took me a day or two to really get the feel for the pattern. I just kept telling myself, “You know these stitches, they are just smaller.” I was waiting in line at the deli a day or two after and picked up my “waiting-in-line-sock” and marveled at how huge my fingering weight sock yarn felt after working with cobweb weight yarn. It really felt very cumbersome in my hands. I couldn’t help but laugh.

I also made a discovery this past week: local knitters…two different groups even! I am going to my local library tonight to check out this first group, then I am going to a local Stitch ‘n Bitch next Thursday to see what that group is like. The library group meets weekly, whereas the S&B meets monthly. I am so excited…knitters, I knew they were here somewhere. I wonder if there are any knit bloggers? I can only hope.

5 Responses to Shhh, my cobweb weight is whispering sweet nothings in my ear

  1. Pooch says:

    Delicious yarn! The mossy color is so natural and delicate like lichen clinging to a tree. I can’t imagine working with that fine yarn, though I can see you are handling it beautifully!

    Knit happy!
    🙂

  2. amandacathleen says:

    totally see why that yarn spoke to you! Its lovely, especially in the print o’ wave pattern.
    hmmm… I wonder if I can talk Mike into a road trip this weekend….. hmmmmm 😉
    btw I hope you find a knitting group you like!

  3. The real magic of lace comes with the blocking. Take this shrivled, wrinkled, ramen-noodle looking thing and suddenly it’s a work of art.

    That color is beautiful. SO something I would grab for myself. I lurve the greens.

  4. Chris says:

    Oh, pretty lace! I hope you “click” with at least one of those local groups.

  5. keanalee says:

    Oooooooooooooo pretty!

Leave a Reply

