One Year

Yesterday, July 1, 2007. My husband and I shared our 1st wedding anniversary. We really do have quite a story. I had recently moved to PA, and we had planned to have our wedding back in upstate NY. Three days before our wedding my mother called to tell me that my home town was flooded and that they were being evacuated. This is a picture of Main Street in my hometown last year during the flood.

53mainstreetunadilla.jpg

That’s an Army National Guard truck at the end of the road preventing anyone from going back in. It was a bride’s worst nightmare, BUT God would have the glory that day as He provided a wedding more beautiful than any that we had imagined. And He used the wonderful people I work for and my amazing friend Mel (who also works with me). They saved the day! My husband and I made the last minute decision to get married here in PA. My boss said we could have the wedding there on the grounds at work ( a beautiful house from the 1700’s). Mel emptied, and I mean emptied our entire nursery, and turned the lawn into an English Wedding Garden. It was the most beautiful wedding.

My wonderful Auntie M, the family laureate, honored us yesterday with this poem to celebrate our 1st anniversary. Thank you Auntie M!

FIRST ANNIVERSARY
 
 
A year ago this blissful day
Tracey and Travis knelt to pray,
Before their God they made their vows,
To love one another, asking Him to teach them how.
It was in doubt if this day would come
As rain had fallen like a beating drum.
The creeks were swollen, the roads were out,
Even the guests had their doubts.
The floods were high, many lost their homes
Water rushed, a humming drone.
But God had other plans for this young couple,
Travis's hometown came through on the double.
Friends and neighbors and their working crews
All showed up to help them through.
Flowers, tables and plenty of food
Showed Tracey her new home was true blue.
The vows are said, Its been a year
Each day has brought them closer and dear.
They know its taken love and care
To build a home for all who live there.
So with Gods blessing and guiding light
They start a new year for their delight.

		
6 Responses to One Year

  1. Shannon says:

    Happy Anniversary! I hope there are many good ones to come with ya’ll.

  2. Brigitte says:

    Awwww! Happy Anniversary you two!

  3. Chris says:

    Happy anniversary!

  4. Happy Anniversary dear!

  5. amandacathleen says:

    what a great poem! Happy anniversary you two!

  6. Pooch says:

    Happy Anniversary! May God continue to bless you.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

