It’s Monday? Really? Are you sure?

This weekend our house was invaded by NYers! It was a whirlwind of activity. My mom and Gigi came down to visit. We crammed all kind of fun things into our weekend. Saturday morning we went to pick up the Monkey from Bible Camp. She had an awesome week there and we heard goofy camp songs all weekend:

“Oh I wish I were a little bar of soap (Bar of Soap!)”

“Oh I wish I were a little bar of soap (Bar of Soap!)”

“I’d go shiney, shiney, shiney, over everybody’s hiney!”

“Oh I wish I were a little bar of soap (Bar of Soap!)”

It just so happened that my cousin from NY happened to be playing softball in a ladies summer league right here in our backyard. So we made it a point to go watch her play for a bit. Check her out!

softball.jpg

I also caught some Saturday sky under a tree at the ballpark.

satsky.jpg

We had a great meal provided by one of my favorite restaurants back home. The sweet woman who does the cooking sent us a pan of eggplant parmessan. Mmmm! It was soo good.

Sunday after church we went to Gettysburg to cruise the wax museum and then to the Gettysburg National Cemetery. It was a nice way to spend the afternoon and we live only a short drive away. The Monkey took a photo of us on the path there, see I was being silent and respectful, just like the signs say.

groupshot.jpg

I finished a pair of socks for my Dad in the cemetery. My Dad is a big civil war nut, so that will mean a lot to him.

gimmeamin.jpg

This is the grave site of Jenny Wade, the only civilian who died during the battle of Gettysburg. She was hit in the back by a stray bullet and killed instantly.

jennywade.jpg

Apparently “Ghost Tours” are a big thing in Gettysburg. Most of them are at night. Here is one specially tailored to our dear Chris.

blackcattour.jpg

We finished out the afternoon with some great ice cream. A few of us got a sundae called Peanut Butter Xplosion, wow, it was amazing. Peanut butter cup ice cream, hot fudge, and peanut butter sauce. Oh yeah, it was great. And now today I am slow as dirt from all the sugar. Ack.

icecream.jpg

3 Responses to It’s Monday? Really? Are you sure?

  1. Brigitte says:

    Oh man does that ice cream sound good…

    You know, I have always wanted to visit Gettysburg, and amongst other things do one of the ghost tours.

  2. Chris says:

    Oh, my, a black cat tour!! Woo-hoo!! 🙂

  3. That’s an interesting face you were making in that photo dear.

    Ooo… I watched an entire ghost show devoted to Jenny. It was very cool.

Leave a Reply

