Turn about is fare play.

If you have not already done so, please read the previous post, in doing so this one will become hilariously ironic. Go ahead, I will wait…

Done? It was made quite clear to me last night, that the olive sock is not going to take my abuse and neglect and visible disdain anymore. Apparently it is fed up with my wandering eyes, with my wanton knitting habits. It has enlisted help. Last night my friend and I attended our local Stitch ‘n Bitch and something hideous and yet laugh out loud funny was revealed. I was actually making some progress on the olive sock. I forced myself to take only that knitting project to work on and was speeding to the toe decrease. I pulled one of the finished blue socks out for comparison so I could see how much more of the instep I had to knit. I, in my naivety, had thought that the olive sock would just forgive and forget, that we could move blissfully on together towards completion. My past transgressions would go unpunished. I thought that the olive sock had “turned the other heel”, if you will forgive the pun, but it was in that instant, laying next to the blue sock that it had it’s revenge. You see the olive sock was commiserating with the blue sock from the finished pair all along, and as they lay next to each other on the little table in Starbucks…my world came crashing down around me. Do you see it? Do you see my huge, obvious, moronic error?

I forgot to turn my work on the needles before beginning the heel. The socks are laughing at me.

8 Responses to Turn about is fare play.

  1. Poor *snicker* poor *hehehe* dear…

    I’d call it a design feature. That way he’ll always know which is for the left/right foot.

  2. Chris says:

    Really, you could certainly pass that off as intentional.

  3. Brigitte says:

    OH NO!!! Probably why I stick to, uh, toe ups. Because that would so happen to me.

    So, whatcha gonna do? Me – ehn, I’d hide them away and totally forget they even exist.

  4. Norma says:

    Oh, geeeeeeez. I can see myself doing that — in a heartbeat!

  5. Pardon me… *giggle*. I love it anyway, and have done similar things. Call it a design feature! : )

  6. Cynthia says:

    Obviously the olive socks instigated this whole thing and are laughing their socks off!

    Sooo… what’cha gonna do? I’d leave them as is.

  7. amandacathleen says:

    oh frick! but ya know, two of the same exact thing is boring, these are much more fun!

  8. gigi says:

    ravel it to the ankle and start where it should have been and go on from there. . . better than having to do the entire sock over or having your Dad walk crosslegged when showing them off to his friend.

Leave a Reply

