Join me, as we travel through time…

OK, so it’s back…my knitting mojo that is. I will be taking lots of pics this evening to post for all of you tomorrow. In the meantime…

Look at my awesome scores from the Book Nook, a used book shop, run by our local library. There is much to be said for parking your butt on the concrete floor of the Craft Books isle.

First up…I swear when I picked this one up you could actually hear her saying, “Would you like me to seduce you? Is that what you’re trying to tell me?” Please tell me that I’m not the only one who would wear that outfit sans the disco ball earrings.

Next up, hello ladies! Look at us handsome gents fishing in our handknit sweaters. Aren’t we dashing? The pics in these are just hilarious. There is one photo of a guy with cat puke orange polyester pants on. Wow, were they really in fashion back then, or were these men just being humored.

And last, you’ll note the original price here. I paid full price for this little gem. I love her hair. And yes, this one is packed full of sweaters I would wear today as well. There’s a picture of one of the models with a handknit dress on and thigh high silver boots…because ya know, we all have a pair of those just waiting to be worn laying in the corner of our closet.

Cheeky no? Well, thank you for joining me on my little time travel trip. I hope you’ve enjoyed your stay and will fly with us again sometime. Retro Airlines is not responsible for flashbacks or flippy hairdos.

9 Responses to Join me, as we travel through time…

  1. Amy says:

    You totally scored with these books (not like the woman in the first picture wanted you to, you know…)!!! Lucky dog 🙂 I actually like the sweaters on the man book. And yes, I too would wear the outfit on the seduction book.

  2. Toby Wollin says:

    Ahem. I knit a sweater for a boyfriend from that book .. when it was new..definite curse-worthy, too.. I think that relationship lasted 30 days after I presented him with that sweater.

  3. Cynthia says:

    Glad to see that you’ve recovered from your near-fatal attack by socks! Love the books – my MIL gave me a few of similar vintage last time I was at her house. I’ve yet to make anything out of any of them, but I love to look at the pictures.

  4. meg says:

    I’ve got that men’s magazine, too! From my Mom’s stash — nice sweaters, though, aren’t they? I’ve been thinking of trying to knit something from an old publication like that for some time.

  5. Barbie by Mattel says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t like magazine cover or my earrings. The earrings are quite fashionable and are the perfect accessory for my sweater and skirt. Ken wasn’t available for the picture – he was out fishing somewhere.

  6. 2trees says:

    OMG those are fabulous! 😀

  7. Brigitte says:

    Hee hee…dudes’ hair is like, cemented to their skulls.

    Wow, that VK would be a gem!

  8. Chris says:

    I have that mens’ book! Hee hee.

  9. Awww, man! But the earings make the outfit! hehehe
    Love the man sweaters, great cables!

Leave a Reply

