Warm up the Winter

OK, you know how we always take a rather funny tone around here. Well listen knitters, I need to talk to you about something serious for a minute. You are knitters…and that makes you wonderfully estimable people. When there is a need posted out there in knitblog land, we knitters step up to the plate and meet it. Well I have a need. We, like every city have homeless, and while we can’t knit everyone a home or knit them a job or knit them a nice cushy bank account (else I would have done it a long time ago), we can knit them something warm and woolly and wonderful. Something to let them know that we care, that they haven’t been forgotten or swept under a rug.

I would love it if you all could help. If you have a blog, please, make a post about this and link back here, tell your knitting group, tell your favorite LYS, tell every knitter you know. I want to turn this small idea into something big and warm and woolly. So here is what I’m asking:

Knit one or many of the following items: hats, mittens, or gloves.

Knit for a man, or a woman, or a child, or knit for all three.

Please knit something warm, simple or full of cables or fair isle, it’s up to you. Fun fur really isn’t all that warm, our main goal here is warmth.

Send them to me:

Tracey L. Durf

P.O. Box 23

Lurgan, PA 17232

I, in turn, will deliver them to the Franklin County Homeless Shelter where they will be distributed. There is a need, I know with your help, we can fill it. Let’s warm up the winter. Thanks all you wonderful knitterly people.

And since we knitbloggers love our buttons…

…remember take the button not the bandwidth.

7 Responses to Warm up the Winter

  1. sandy says:

    I will knit. Nothing funny about that.
    You are awesome. Nothing funny about that either!
    xoxoxo

  2. Chris says:

    What a good idea! When I knit for the community, I knit for a local group that collects for our homeless shelters. It’s tough being homeless in MN in the winter…

  3. Brigitte says:

    You know it girl! I’d love to help… 🙂

  4. Good cause! I already have a couple of things put aside for donation, but plan to knit a few things more in the upcoming months. Is there any kind of deadline?

  5. 2trees says:

    Yup, I’ll pass this one on, and knit something up also (blogslap me if I forget…)

  6. […] Tracey’s collecting warm and woolly items for her local homeless shelter in her “Warm Up the Winter” drive – here are the details about how you can participate. […]

  7. ssoooo…. whats your cut off date? and have you warned your mailman?
    *evil giggle* count me in chicka!

Leave a Reply

