Getting in the spirit

This weekend, the Monkey got in the spirit of things and decided to knit mittens for our Warm Up The Winter project. (If you haven’t already checked that out, click on the “Warm Up The Winter” tab at the top of the page) I told her it was time to kick her knitting up a notch. I had just picked up the new issue of KnitSimple and they have a great “whole family” mitten pattern in it. So, she cast on. This kid has got it! Let me tell you! Last Friday the Monkey learned: the purl stitch, casting on, knitting in the round with dpn’s, and how to M1. And she did a fantastic job, she just picked it up and ran with it. Saturday she learned how to decrease, and not just any decrease, it was a sl1 K2tog, psso. Wow!

Here she is with Grandma Friday night, knittin’ away. *beams with pride* Yep, that’s my girl.

Saturday we finally caught up with the Spinning Guild I have been chasing for months now. Dottie, a member of the knitting group I attend is in the guild. She has been keeping me up to date on their events, and I finally made it to one. What a great group of ladies.

6 Responses to Getting in the spirit

  1. Brigitte says:

    Eeee, another convert!!! Yay Monkey!!! Look at her, she’s a natural. You should so be proud!

    😀

  2. You go girl! Some lucky people are just one with the knitting.

  3. Bonne Marie says:

    Call me a sentimental fool, but I got such a lump in my throat looking at the two of your girls!

    My Grandma taught me how to knit when I was 10 and the first thing I made was a mitten. One had a long skinny thumb. The other a fat short thumb. I wore them anyway!

    I miss my Busia — we often sat and she would crochet and I would knit while we watched her daytime *stories*.

    Thanks for the walk down Memory Lane — 😉

  4. Pooch says:

    Like mother, like daughter. It’s fun to share knitting/crocheting, isn’t it?

    I’ve been curious about the sketch of JinBao. Did you draw that? It is just precious and has so much personality!

  5. what a monkey you got there! Now is the time to start hiding some of your stash!

Leave a Reply

