Partner In Crime

So, I’m sure you’re all wondering what my job is right? No, well, Cynthia is anyway. 😉

Here’s the scoop. My hubby’s boss called me one afternoon and said he may have found a job for me. He was kind enough to pimp my resume. He said his friend was the principal agent for a well known national insurance agency and had lost two people in the past two weeks and was looking for someone specific. So, he faxed him my resume, I in turn faxed my cover letter and letter of reference. He called me and we set up an interview. I had no idea what, exactly, I was interviewing for. All I knew was it was in insurance.

I showed up that Monday and it was amazing. The job duties are identical to what I used to do at the bank only with insurance instead of investments, plus some administrative work. The best part is, that here, not only do I get to book the appointments, I get to make the sale and collect commission. He said he was basically looking for a partner in crime. I told him that’s what I do, and I’d love it if that were on my business cards.

I work for the principal agent, not the big national company, which is pretty cool, big corporate backing, with the small town feel. It’s a small office, there’s only four of us: two of whom are retirement age and very sweet. My boss is great. He’s very laid back and very excited to have me on board. He keeps telling me he knows I am going to do very well here. He’s great. He is going to put my strengths as a social networker to use as well by sending me out to shmooze at the local Chamber’s of Commerce. I love this job and I’m really excited about the opportunities involved. And he took us all out to lunch today to celebrate my first day. Hows that for a cool boss?!

8 Responses to Partner In Crime

  1. Brigitte says:

    That is a very cool boss! Dude…you’re lucky.

    (Great, now I have that old “Nationwide is on your side” ditty in my head…)

  2. Cynthia says:

    Ok, I didn’t have the Nationwide ditty in my head until Brigitte mentioned it!

    Congrats! It sounds like a great job for you.

  3. amandacathleen says:

    Awesome boss, awesome! Congrats on landing a great job : )

  4. Sing with with me now…..

    Everythings coming up roses!!!

  5. Pooch says:

    Ah…so you are a partner in crime now, are you? Are their benefits with that?!! So glad to know you are happy with your new job….be blessed.

    🙂

  6. I'm the Mom says:

    Social Networker: Likes to talk, attend meetings and parties, laughs, and tells funny jokes while handing out business cards.

    Wait a minute … that’s why my boss gave me my own business cards!

  7. Aunt Brenda says:

    Congratulations!! God will always be God! I’m very excited for you on all accounts. So now that you’ve had nearly a full week, how’s it going? Also, I sent you a card that I couldn’t resist….it’s purdy dern funny 🙂

  8. Chris says:

    I am so happy for you! And it really IS who you know, isn’t it??

Leave a Reply

