Ahem, Ahem, Ahem…meow?

Hello Possums, as you know I have been blogging without a cat for some time now. You may also know that in knitblog land that is akin to driving without a license. So last week I went to Cumberland Valley Animal Shelter’s website and filled out an application, ya know, for my license. Well, I really wanted to get a cat so I could be a real knit blogger. There has been a cat shaped hole in my heart for nigh on 6 years now. Unfortunately/fortunately though, I found a dog instead. His name is Evanrude and here he is.

Yes, yes I know, and I’m sure it’s obvious to you as well, just don’t say anything to Evanrude. You see Evanrude came to the shelter when he was really little. So little in fact that he had to live with a foster family until he was old enough to be “fixed” (was he broken?) and his foster family had a momma dog there so…I am now the proud owner of a kittydog. He looks like a cat, feels like a cat, purrs like an Evanrude, and acts like a dog. He loves to have his belly rubbed, and if it feels really good, he kicks his back feet. He licks your face. He “begs” to jump up on your lap, someone needs to tell him he’s a cat and cats don’t ask permission.

It’s his first night here and he’s adapting very well. He and the dogs are getting along fine. Instead of two baby elephants playing and romping around the house, we now have two baby elephants and a horse. Evanrude has been teasing the dogs into chasing him all evening long. He’ll sit under the couch and then come tearing out into the middle of the dogs and keep right on going down the hallway. Although he did settle down for a bit and spent some quality time with each of his new housemates.

Well folks, I’m exhausted. Did I tell you I found my knit mojo at Stitch ‘n Bitch last night? Apparently it was hidden in a skein of STR’s Farmhouse and it was unleashed when I wound it into a nice yarn cake. Of course this is one of those amazingly beautiful, yet impossible to photograph colorways. It is on the needles for some socks for me. It is magical.

And PS to Chris, I had all of his nails trimmed in five minutes. He’s so laid back he doesn’t care what you do as long as you don’t stop rubbing the belly.

10 Responses to Ahem, Ahem, Ahem…meow?

  1. Chris says:

    Welcome, Evanrude! He does look like he’s already settled in! And good news about the nail trimming. 🙂

  2. Aww! Someone needs a few tiny tunas!!!

  3. Pooch says:

    Welcome to the newest family member! Your family IS growing, isn’t it? So cute to see doggy and kitty making nice with each other!

    🙂

  4. meg says:

    He, he! What a sweet cat — We’ve got cats like that, too. I’m not sure I’d categorize my little girl that way, but she’s not as aloof (to me, anyway) than people generally think cats.
    My uncle had a dog he called a “dat” because it was small & had pointy ears, I suppose. May be he was trying to make the little thing more endearing to us cat people (it was a mean little animal, so it didn’t work).

  5. meg says:

    Oh, man — that sock yarn definitely rocks. Don’t the colors just cheer you?? :o) Soft, bright sock yarn, what a way to get the knitting mojo back!

  6. Brigitte says:

    Aw, Evanrude you’re just so cute! And you know exactly what to do with a treadmill – sleep on it! Looks like he has made friends with the poochies, love the snuggly picture.

    Welcome to the “Blogger with Cat” club. Secret Handshake and membership card to follow.

  7. Amy says:

    I couldn’t wait until I got back from Hong Kong… I had to come look NOW! The kitty is awesome looking and awesome sounding. I love dat… or a cog. Or much better, an Evanrude! So adorable.

  8. 2trees says:

    ❤ Evanrude!!!
    It’s very important to have a cat (or two, yk). 🙂

  9. Gigi says:

    Testing, testing, one, two, three!

  10. How cute! He looks happy, and I see you’re not the only one with a treadmill-sized cat/dog bed. : )

Leave a Reply

