I have a sister.

I do, I have a really cool big sister. She is my half sister through my Dad and to be frank, or Bob, or Harry, we really didn’t get to spend a lot of time together as children for geographical and parental reasons. None the less, the time that we did spend together I remember I was always in awe of her. You see, she was cool. My big sister was different, she was very smart, she could draw and write poetry, and she always wore black and she had great blond hair. And in my childhood filled with older stepbrothers she was a breath of fresh air. She never shot any of my My Little Ponies with a b-b gun.

I have thought about her on so many occasions. I will see something that will remind me of her. I remember on her apartment door where she went to college she had a stale bagel on the door as a door knocker. Ingenious. I think I have always known her as my little big sister and she I as her big little sister. I’m taller. I don’t know why, but I can’t listen to a Boy George song without thinking about her. I think she was the one who introduced me to his music one summer when she and I were at Dad’s. We have been out of touch for the past twelve years. I think the last time I got to see her was the summer the Monkey was born. I don’t think either of us made it a point to try to stay in touch. We hadn’t established a close “sister thing” as children, why should things change now that we are adults? Well, because we are adults, and your priorities change, and things like losing a grandmother make you think about family and you re-evaluate it’s importance.

This past Thursday my sister emailed me and asked about our getting to know each other. (We are adults you know, we don’t have to rely on our parents for that sort of thing anymore. Win, wink, nod, nod.) I have to say, I am elated. I am pickled tink! She may be dropping by here now and again. I do hope she does. As my first act of sister relationship building, I will knit her some belated birthday socks…as soon as I find out her shoe size. I missed you Little Big Sister.

11 Responses to I have a sister.

  1. Chris says:

    That’s very cool!

  2. polly says:

    that’s really lovely.

  3. Brigitte says:

    Aw, that’s so wonderful! My sister and I were never friends growing up, but as adults, we are very close and she is a special part of my life now.

  4. jen says:

    You are so awesome. I’m pretty pickled too!

    I know I should have done this years and years and years and years ago…but I’m awfully glad I did it. *Hugs*

  5. amandacathleen says:

    isn’t it funny how much things change? Its wonderful that you guys will be getting together.

  6. Awww… that is so cool!

  7. traceyleezle says:

    Thanks guys, I’m telling you, you are all the best.

  8. meg says:

    That’s wonderful! Bless you both 🙂

  9. Cynthia says:

    This is great! My sis and I are closer now than we ever were as kids – all through the miracle of email… (we get on each other’s nerves too much in person)

  10. Emily says:

    Thank you for being good to my friend. 🙂

  11. Aine says:

    Funny…you know, my ‘little’ sister is taller than me, too, and since we lived with different parents after the ages of 8 (her) and 12 (me), we didn’t spend lots of our childhood together. Before that, we’d been fairly antagonistic (I recall her throwing her clogs at me on multiple occasions, which I probably heartily deserved). Now, I’m discovering that she’s actually a really cool individual. So I can relate a bit. Sisters are a good thing!

Leave a Reply

