Please put all pointy objects away before reading this post!

This is going to make your blood boil…or if you have a very good sense of irony and tragic humor it will make you laugh at this narrow minded, women trashing, ignorant, soul. (Be warned, there is explicit language in the *ahem* gentleman’s (?) article).

http://www.philadelphiaweekly.com/articles/16125

I sent him this email:

I have to say that your article was rather disturbing and insulting. I am a knitter of 20 years. I knit back when knitting wasn’t cool or edgy and that has never been my motive for doing so. In fact most of my acquaintences who knit do not knit because it is cool or edgy. I knit because it was a great skill that was passed on to me by my grandmother. It is a way to connect with the women in my family’s past. My grandmother was a very strong woman, she was none of the things you described in your article, nor was her husband, she worked hard for her family because she loved them, not because she was trapped in some male hierarchy. She was a 4th grade teacher and in her class everyone learned how to knit, girls and boys because it was a life skill, not a “woman’s skill”. Your entire article seems to show a serious lack of respect for women and yet you have the nerve to wave the women’s rights movement under our noses, which if I am not mistaken was about a women’s rite to choose. And here you are in your article telling women what is and what is not punk, what we can and cannot choose. Here I thought goth and punk were a means of self expression, the key word here is self. You make a lot of generalizations in your article about why people choose to knit, without obviously taking the time to ask. In all honesty, it’s hard to relate to your views when your disrespect for women permeates your writing so thoroughly. Let me make this very clear to you Mr. Wells: if you were in my “brain-dead, soul-destroying pre-feminist housewife” grandmother’s family and she heard you talk that way about women…she’d take you out behind the barn and kick your ass.
9 Responses to Please put all pointy objects away before reading this post!

  1. Brigitte says:

    Wooo! That’s tellin’ him! Very well written.

    His comments and views are so out-dated and insulting – you really do have to wonder who the “brain-dead” and “soul-destroying” individual is.

  2. Ahh, so that article is why AntiCraft is running a contest for people to knit/crochet their own Vlad the Impaler hats! : )

    Good response, too. Clearly, that author not only is too quick to judge, but also is totally clueless.

  3. Hehe I love the ending of your e-mail dear! Well said.

  4. Nancy says:

    Well written response! I’m so tired of male “journalists” putting down women, Who do they think they are? I can’t believe this guy took the time to write an article putting down women who knit! Huh?

    Maybe his momma refused to knit him some mittens when he was little….

  5. Amy says:

    Bravo! Yea, that article kind of pissed me off a bit. Good thing I have my knitting to console me and calm me down, cause if not, I’d go to Philly anti-kick-his-ass 🙂

  6. Amy says:

    Ok, I meant to type “go to Philly AND anti-kick-his-ass”. I hate it when I leave out words as I type…

  7. Cynthia says:

    As I sit here in my handknit socks and handknit shawl I didn’t realize that I’m edgy, hip, punk and goth. Cool! I’m running out at lunch to dye my hair blue and purple, get my tongue pierced, and get that skull tattoo I’ve always wanted!

    I loved your response – very eloquent!

  8. amandacathleen says:

    awesome response. Very well written!

  9. Lara says:

    Good for you!!!! I came over to you from Keana’s site and ran into this. Reading the article can almost make your gauge much tighter! Thanks for your response….it was perfect and very well written.

Leave a Reply

