She is done!

This turned out beautiful!Tomorrow it will be wrapped up and on Wednesday it will make it’s trip to Haiti to be given to a missionary. It is covered in prayer and love and I hope that the recipient feels God’s peace every time she wraps it around her shoulders. Here she is blocked out.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s get down to the knitting. I have a few gripes about the Print O The Wave Stole pattern. There are several parts (the eyelet round in particular) that are poorly written, the directions are unclear as to when to move the marker. I asked several ladies on Ravelry who have already knit this about it. Three of them said the couldn’t figure it out so they fudged it and the other two were able to figure out when the markers were supposed to be moved. Also, this pattern has errata in it. None of which can be found on the website where the pattern is up for download. Nor does it say on the website that the pattern even has errata. Let me tell you I was on the verge of tears this past Monday because I was so frustrated. I figured I had better put the knitting down and step away for a while. So I did, back to ravelry where someone mentioned errata on this pattern. The only way I found the errata was by googling “Print O The Wave errata”. While visiting the forum that had the errata listed I also got another shocker. The pattern calls for 800 yards of laceweight, on this forum, Eunny mentions that it actually takes more around 900 yards. Well that’s just wonderful. Again, it would be nice if you had put this up with the pattern. So, this left me with not enough yarn to finish my stole and wondering what the heck I was supposed to do, this yarn was hand dyed. I didn’t have enough to do the edging all the way around, so I decided to make my own edging up using the eyelet and miter rounds in the pattern.

In hindsight this pattern is beautiful. I do still plan on making one for myself. I heard that this was one of Eunny’s first published patterns, hence the errata. Well, she is an accomplished designer now, and has been for some time. Please Eunny, take a few minutes and update your site with the errata. I think it would be awfully considerate of you and save us a lot of frustration.

“Hmmm, hey mom, is that a dropped stitch?”
13 Responses to She is done!

  1. Brigitte says:

    Heh, aren’t armchair knitters fun?!

    It’s beautiful, you did a lovely job! And so nicely blocked too… Wow.

  2. Cynthia says:

    It turned out beautifully! I’m sure the lucky receipient will love it.

  3. Emily says:

    Oh wow, that looks great!

  4. amandacathleen says:

    Beautiful! You did a wonderful job, and you deserve a big pat on the back for finishing it!
    Your kitty is just too funny πŸ™‚

  5. KeanaLee says:

    that is one of the most beautiful things I have every seen, It’s like art. WOW! Don’t you hate to give it up!

  6. It’s gorgeous! Too bad about the trials. I couldn’t find the forum post you mentioned/ Do you still have the link, or remember what it was called? I can add the errata information to the Ravelry entry, since it’s important information.

  7. It turned out beautiful!!!

  8. meg says:

    Oh, gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! I love that green, too. And the very vigilant kittycat πŸ™‚

  9. Nancy says:

    You’re quite brave to let your cat sit on your lace knitting. Is he declawed? (Or is the cat a she? There are so many beautiful cats on kntting blogs, I can’t keep them all straight! πŸ™‚ )

    Great job on the stole. I knit my first last fall and hope to make another soon!

  10. I'm the Mom says:

    I think that Evanrude stared at it too long and is hypnotized and can’t move … kind of like what we used to do to Gigi’s chickens! πŸ™‚

  11. Heidi says:

    *Gasp, that is astonishing, and beautiful…and one of the prettiest patterns I’ve seen for lace…I wish I had the will power to actually begin, and finish such a thing :/
    Oh, and cute kitty ^-^

    -Mica

Leave a Reply

