The Bestest Gigi Ever

I am very lucky, because unlike most of you, I have a Gigi. And she is an awesome Gigi. If my Gigi knows you, and everyone else in your life forgot your birthday, you would at least get a birthday card from her. And it would be handmade.When you go to her house for lunch she makes fried squash sandwiches and Pink Elephants for desserts. It’s this wild jello-ey thing that is yummy. Because, well, she’s the best! Wanna know how much the best?

When I was a child Gigi made me this:

It is the “Tails” blanket. If you look closely, all the animals’ tails hang off the blanket. I loved this thing. You have no idea how much. When the Monkey was born, I reluctantly shared it with her…not passed it onto her because, ya know…IT’S MINE! Well, after my divorce, it went missing. I have a very strong feeling as to what happened to it, which I will not go into detail for fear of becoming extremely angry. Let’s just say for all intensive purposes, it’s gone. And this sucks a lot.

Well, this Christmas mom plopped a box in my lap from Gigi. Now I was really nervous about this present because mom was hovering with the camera while I unwrapped it and Gigi watched from across the room. I thought for sure there was a baby or a puppy or a Faberge egg or something of the like in the box. I opened it up and inside was a plastic bag, and all I could see in the plastic bag was this mass of fringe and I’m thinking, “What the heck is this?” Then I opened it, and saw that it was yellow and blue fringe, and well I started crying because I knew it was the Tails blanket. Another one, you have no idea how much time and love was invested in the crocheting of the first one and my Gigi loved me so much she did it all over again. Thanks Gigi! You are the bestest! I love you.

This is what happens when you give a pregnant lady a piece of her childhood. Best part? Gigi said I don’t have to share it with the baby.

11 Responses to The Bestest Gigi Ever

  1. I'm the Mom says:

    Tracey,
    You certainly have a good share of “Gigi” in you. The knitting/crocheting/crafty gene sure passed me by, but it hit you big time. And that makes me happy and I’m sure it makes Mom happy as well. Grandma Ralph wrote poems and short stories, and Mom was a journaler – she may not have done it every year, but she’s logged in quite a few journals. And you are again following in the footsteps – the technology is a little different, but you’re continuing the tradition – in the old family stomping grounds even! You make my heart smile. 🙂

  2. polly says:

    it’s wonderful and such a touching story.. luck you … lucky gigi

  3. Gigi says:

    Dear #1 Grandchild. . . . tears came when I watched you open your gift and again as I read this. Love you. . . Gigi

  4. Heartwarming! That blanket is awesome!!

  5. amandacathleen says:

    What a wonderful woman your Gigi is! That blanket is amazing! I love the tails 🙂

  6. Pooch says:

    oh-my-garsh!!! That is an amazing blanket!! You and baby are so blessed.

    🙂

  7. Brigitte says:

    Aw, I want a Gigi too! What a wonderful gift!

  8. Aw, I teared up! That blanket is a work of art. And the best part is that as much joy as it gives you to have that blanket again, your Gigi gets twice as much joy by being able to give that happiness to you.

  9. grievanceproject says:

    My daughters and their cousins are also blessed to have a Gigi, but we spell it GeeGee. My oldest would leave out the middle of words, so she shortened Granny to Gee. The next grandkid – my niece – double Gee to GeeGee and it stuck.

    GeeGee’s are awesome.

    E.M.

Leave a Reply

