Let the countdown begin.

Three more days until I am a stay at home mom again. For a about six months anyway, unless the good Lord really has a nice surprise for us. I can not even begin to tell you how excited that makes me. I really loved my time with the Monkey as a stay at home mom. I had a neighbor who used to call me the Domestic Goddess. I am really in my element at home. I have a whole list of things I’m planning to do before baby arrives: sewing, baking (once the new stove arrives), cleaning, getting the nursery ready, and of course…knitting! See?

Finally, the “baby knitting bug” has bit me, and bit me hard. We went to JoAnne Fabrics this weekend so I could pick up extra fabric and notions for the nursery set I am making and I stumbled across the Sugar ‘n Cream. I am a huge fan of the bibs and the burp clothes in Mason Dixon Knitting so 14 super size skeins found their way into my cart. Two of each color, that’s enough to make two burp cloths and one bib in each color. Chris, I need some help with the whole kitty bib modeling. I just can’t seem to get Evanrude to sit still long enough. Also I cast on with Believe, from Classic Elite, a cotton rayon blend from my stash for a hooded pullover for Tad. I’m using a free pattern from Bernatt. This is hard not knowing boy or girl. BTW, we still haven’t decided on a boys name, I want a good strong Irish name. I really like Finn and Seamus. Any suggestions?

6 Responses to Let the countdown begin.

  1. Chris says:

    I don’t have any special techniques other than taking them by surprise and having the camera in your hand when you do so…

  2. Ooo… I like Finn.

    Can’t wait to see how productive you are! And I demand photos of this nursery set!

  3. Cathy-Cate says:

    If we’d had a boy, we were thinking Corwin. Gaelic, means “heart’s companion”. The only thing is, that name would have gone really well with my Irish last name which I kept, but not with my husband’s extremely Germanic name, I thought! Somehow, he wasn’t seeing letting me give our son my last name just because it flowed better….
    Anyway, we had another girl, and then we stopped. But I still like the name.

    Our good friend (from Ireland)’s name is Finian, Finn for short. And Colm is a guy I knew from Scotland, he was a curler with me up in St. Paul; I loved the way he said his name. Love both of those. And Aidan is another Irish name I like! (must be my Irish blood coming out, sorry, I’ll stop now.)

  4. I'm the Mom says:

    The best thing to do is to go to the back door and holler the name out really loud – like your kid was supposed to have been home an hour ago and is now late and in trouble. That will determine best how it flows on the tongue and how it will sound. Also, make sure it’s not a name that is going to cause him/her trouble in school – very important. Seamus is just asking for it … not to mention he will always be spelling his name to people.

    Besides, if it’s a boy, you know you’re always going to be calling the little guy “Tad.” 😉

  5. Brigitte says:

    I like Finn. One of the girls here at work named her son Finn, and it really has a nice ring to it. Just sayin’…

    Wow, you have been busy already!

  6. Pooch says:

    Finn is a good strong name. I also like Quinn…twins, maybe?? I know, not funny!

Leave a Reply

