Favorites At Home

I have to say Valerie’s contest sounded easy enough, but I actually had a hard time narrowing it down to three of my favorite things at home. I think I could post every day for all week about the little things I love about “home”. Well, anyhow possums, I did manage to narrow it down to three. Here they are in no preferential order. And now, new and improved thanks to Chris…clicky to embiggen pictures!

This is my bird watcher. I find him here each morning and on occasion in the afternoon. I don’t know why he prefers this spot, but prefer it he does and it makes me smile every time I see him. When a bird lands on the feeder he hunkers down in his “bunker” and all you can see is the tips of ears sticking up out of the sink.

The next on my list is something very special to me. It was the first gift my hubby ever gave me, back when we were still friends and I was trying to set him up with someone else. 🙂 It’s not just a heart, it’s my heart. He gave it to me so no one else could ever break it again. How’s that for romantic. It was about that time I decided to quit trying to give him away.

And last but certainly not least, my yarn corner. I have an entire corner of my house devoted to the display and storage of my fibery goodness. I love it. It gives me comfort to see it there. I can’t look at it without smiling. There is a rubbermaid tote covered in a small tablecloth under the baskets, that is full of yarn too. All the cheese boxes are full as well. It’s good insulation I tell you…but one can never have enough, especially with these fuel prices on the rise.

Oh yes, and not really related to the contest, but this does happen to be one of my favorite things as well. I recently discovered why my clean laundry I was folding the other day was “fuzzy”. Little poop. Anyway, it’s a good thing he’s so darn cute.

6 Responses to Favorites At Home

  1. amandacathleen says:

    your birdwatcher and your laundry helper are just too cute for words! Your hubby is a wonderful romantic. I love that gift! I want to just cozy up in your yarn corner, Its beautiful!

  2. Chris says:

    You’re welcome. Hmm – are you using raw pictures from your camera, or are you working with them before you use them here? Seems like trying to scroll down the post is slow – which can mean raw (ie, big) pictures files.

    Anyway!! I like your “helpers”!

  3. I'm the Mom says:

    I’ll bet he wouldn’t have his nose buried if it was the dirty clothes pile!

    P.S. The cat bunker makes a very good desktop on my computer- thanks! 🙂

  4. Brigitte says:

    Oh, that is so romantic…*sigh*… Good thing you decided not to set him up with someone else!

    Um. You have what? 2 dogs and cat? And your knitting corner is that neat and organized? I need you to tell me how that’s possible… 😀

  5. Bonne Marie says:

    YOU have something I simply long for: a window over the kitchen sink! I live in a soft-loft setup where they slap a counter across one end of the room and call it a kitchen…

    I am looking for a new place so I can watch the birdies while my hands are in the warm sudz…

  6. Awww! That heart was so cute. Obviously a keeper.

    The animals are adorable as always. And I love the way you’ve got your hanks displayed!

Leave a Reply

