PreLabor Goals

So, I don’t know where the heck the time went, but I have a month…eep…or less…eeep…before wee one makes their appearance! I will be 36 weeks on Thursday. I have sooo much knitting I still want to finish before Tad arrives too. So I figure I’d better set some goals. Here we go, excuse the lousy pictures, it’s rainy here.

On the needles and in no order of importance:

#1 Labor socks: my midwife gave us a list with everything we will need for our homebirth (oh yeah, did I mention we are having this baby at home?) and on that list is “warm socks” well duh, you can’t say that to a knitter, of course I have to make my own, and no I can’t wear a pair I already have knit. I came up with a quick eyelet pattern using the yarn that 2Trees from World of Yarncraft sent me. It’s soooo soft. Pictures to come when the light doesn’t suck as bad.

#2 My sister’s socks: ah, these poor things have been sorely neglected for nearly a month now. I need to get these finished and in the mail to her with some cookies, asap!

#3 Mr. Greenjeans: I really don’t know what my problem is with this sweater, it’s gorgeous, I love it, it fits, and I’m nearly finished!

I even bought several vintage Checz glass buttons from Etsy to choose from for the closure. I have a few more inches of cable and then the button band. I need to stop stalling and start knitting. I want to wear this to my baby shower…if it’s not 80 degrees anyway.

#4 Baby Sweater: Okay, technically this thing isn’t even on the needles yet, it’s just been swatched, but I need to get my hiney in gear here. I found the pattern on Ravelry. I wanted something sweet, but not gender specific. Tadah! And it’s being knit in super deliciously soft Peruvian Pure Alpaca Fina from Elann in Peridot.

#5 Baby Genius Burp Cloth: Okay, I have five finished and will finish the sixth tomorrow, but as anyone who has had an infant knows, six burp cloths is not nearly enough. I bought enough Sugan ‘n Cream to make I4. Apparently, we like to model these more than we like to model bibs.

#6 Baby Bib: Again, same with the burp cloths, I have about 4 knit up, they just need buttons. These I can put off for a bit, but not for too long.

So here is the plan! Here are the goals! Tad, please cooperate accordingly!

Finish Goal #3 by the end of this week (April 25th).

Finish Goal #1 and #2 by the end of next week (May 2nd).

Finish Goal #4 by May 9th.

Finish 6 more of goal #6 by May 16th.

Finish two goal #5’s per week until yarn is gone or baby arrives.

Hmmm, okay, I think I can do that. Cheer me on folks! I’m not doing much these days anyway. I’m starting to slow down and I’m sitting a lot so this is totally manageable.

9 Responses to PreLabor Goals

  1. Brigitte says:

    Phew, that is a lot of knitting!

    Um. Of course it’s easier for them to model, especially when they’re sound asleep. 🙂

    I have a friend who had 2 of her 3 children at home. Her third came so quickly it happened during a commercial break on TV. The whole labour took 20 minutes.

  2. Chris says:

    Good luck!! Of course, the bibs can sort of double as burp cloths…

  3. polly says:

    come on, you can do it!!!! You wouldn’t want the baby to short burp clothes or for you to be without a pair of socks during the birth. if you need some help getting these done, just say the word and I’m sure we can pull together to help.

  4. Pooch says:

    Looks like you have everything well planned! How exciting to think that you’ll soon see and hold your precious newborn!

    🙂

  5. KeanaLee says:

    AT HOME!! Girl you crazy, but I so admire that, I can’t wiat to see him & photos & everything. It went so fast………though I am sure not for you!

  6. Jane says:

    Hmmm, I wonder if the urge to finish all that knitting counts as nesting. (ducking and running now. hee hee)

  7. 2trees says:

    YOU GO GIRL!!!!
    All of mine were homebirths too. 🙂
    Oh, yeah, the knitting…
    make sure you knit big enough, since Tad probably won’t be wearing wool in July.

  8. Sheila LeBourveau says:

    hey I’ve been checking out your site for a long time and it is awesome I love to see and hear whats going on with you all. You look really good and so does elizabutt I still can’t believe you are going to have a baby. I know u will be a good mom as u r with elizabeth i hope everything goes well. I got a new puppy finally they wore me down, she is 7 months old now and I got her when she was 8 weeks from this amish family they where really nice they where in potsdam ny. well I will say by for now and please email me I’d like to hear from you. Tell all I said hi yes even Travis

    Love ya Sheila

  9. amandacathleen says:

    Knit girl, knit! You are one amazing chicka, and if any knitter could finish it would be you 😀 I love how your Mr. Greenjeans is coming out. That is the prettiest shade of green!

Leave a Reply

