Desperation sets in…

You should hear my mommy! Before I was born she had certain views on the use of a pacifier. After all, my big sister didn’t really use a pacifier all that long, a month or two, and then she found her thumb. Mommy said I wasn’t going to use a pacifier…and then I arrived, and I was colicky to boot. My how her story has changed.

Mine hasn’t…I listened to her while I was in the womb and I won’t use a pacifier. Any of them. Mama wants me to take a pacifier to calm me down, but I won’t. She desperately, desperately wants me to take a pacifier. Wanna see how desperate she is?

Yeah, desperate is the word mama. She has even ordered one of those from the internet. She has one more on its way, this one. Gumdrop pacifier. She’s hoping it will be “the one”. We shall see. Hee, hee, hee.

8 Responses to Desperation sets in…

  1. Emily says:

    Lol, babies with attitude.

  2. Kathleen says:

    My first child loved his pacifier. He was given it at the hospital in a one of those baby gift baskets from the formula companies. He loved it so much I had to get another one or two. But they didn’t sell these in the store, so I had to special order them! 🙂

    Then came my second child who didn’t like to sleep and sucked on nothing. No thumb, no pacifier, nothing. And existed on just a few hours of sleep each day. He wasn’t colicky – but he was not a restful child!

    Good luck finding a settling routine!

  3. Brigitte says:

    Hee hee, oh Finn, you are just so cute! You look like your Mom too.

    You keep up with you’re cheery, smiley face and you won’t need one!

  4. 2trees says:

    OMG HE’S SO CUTE!
    Some babies just aren’t into pacifiers. 🙂

  5. He’s just too cute. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that he’ll take to the vanilla flavored nitsy (my family’s word for them).

  6. Nancy says:

    My older son was determined to have “colic” by the pediatrician when he was 6 weeks old. I couldn’t believe I had six more weeks of constant crying from the aftrnoon to bedtime to go! I almost cried in the doctor’s office when he gave me this news! My back was also aching from bending over ther baby, holding a binkie in his mouth, as he was too young to keep it there himself.

    After visiting a friend’s house for lunch (her son was a month older) I learned about putting my son on a feeding/”playing”/napping schedule (works if you’re nursing or bottle-feeding). I wasn’t putting my son down for naps – I thought babies fell alseep when they were tired! I bought the book “Babywise” that afternoon, read it that evening, and started my son on a schedule the next morning. (Their method disassociates feeding from sleeping so the baby is not dependent on a meal to fall alseep.)

    It worked like a charm! After three days – no more “colic” and he was sleeping through the night (10pm to 6am). What a change! I guess he was just overtired and not colicky afterall. I used this method with both of my boys and we’ve never had bedtime issues; they go to bed, fall alseep and pretty much stay there. (They’re now 8 1/2 and 10.)

  7. teeehheee! silly finn! He is just too cute for words. (good thing huh?) Bryce was a horribly collicky baby, it had a lot to with his acid reflux. But what saved my sanity was the vacuum cleaner. My neighbors must have thought I was a neat freak, cause the vacuum was always on, but the white noise sound calmed him down!! Kailey has never taken a binky, but she loved to be swaddled. Thank goodness that calmed her down!

Leave a Reply

