Magic Yarn Ball Swap

I did a swap recently on the diaper sewing forum I am a member of. I had never heard of a Magic Yarn Ball Swap before, but man is it fun! You buy lots of little goodies and maybe one big goody and wind yarn into a ball, adding the goodies in the yarn as you go. Then as the recipient knits they get goodies as they go!

Here is my yarn ball from my swap partner, hand dyed, it wants to be mittens, can’t you tell? I luuuv the colors!

I was merrily knitting away on my mittens when I saw a teensy bit of blue poking through, see it there in the upper right hand corner, so I gave it a better look…and it’s roving! Now I told myself I would be good and just knit the ball to the end, waiting patiently to see my surprises, but the roving has me undone. Yes, I will admit it, I am barely finished with the cuff of the first mitten and I decided to just unwind it with my ball winder. Curse you Roving!

It is sooo pretty and this picture doesn’t really do it justice, it’s blues and purples and a teeny bit of pink. It’s going to spin up beautifully. And you can tell, it’s Finn approved!

Thank you Swap Partner! This was great and thanks so much for keeping the tea caffeine free. So thoughtful of you! So, now that it’s properly wound, I have to start my mittens over, bad girl, bad, bad, bad. Here’s a shot of the gorgeous yarn.

8 Responses to Magic Yarn Ball Swap

  1. Emily says:

    Wow! Your partner did a really good job! I can’t believe she got all that roving stuffed into that tiny ball of yarn!

  2. Oh my god those cheeks!!!!

    That blue is beautiful. I pine for a spinning wheel. One day… when I’m rich…

  3. that is some beautiful yarn, and the roving is such a lovely surprise! I would have done the same exact thing.

  4. Cynthia says:

    What a clever idea. Love the yarn and the roving. And the tea, of course. I’m afraid I wouldn’t be able to wait either.

    Finn is so handsome in his roving wrap.

  5. I'm the Mom says:

    My baby looks good in blue, but so does his Nana. Please put a kiss for me on that little bald head and whisper “Don’t forget your Nana!”

  6. KeanaLee says:

    What a cool idea! A yarn of surprises. He is getting sooooooooooo big. I love that little bald head!

  7. Brigitte says:

    Hee hee! Hi Finn! What a cute wittle head you have! Mmmmm….Stash Tea! Yummy!

  8. hey, does that beautiful blue fiber always come with a wee infielder? lol

Leave a Reply

