Mittens! Foiled again…

So I cast on my Magic Yarn Ball yarn again for a pair of mittens. I was working on them up at my Aunt and Uncle’s cabin over Labor Day weekend. I had finished the cuff and was halfway through the thumb gusset when I picked them up round the campfire to work on them. Well, one of my cousin’s had a new friend with her. And this new friend was very cold and shivering. So I did what any good knitter would do. I looked good and hard at those mittens and thought, “Hmmm, that thumb gusset kind of looks like a chest piece, and that cuff looks like a neck…” and so the mittens were sacrificed once again. Click the picture of my yarn to see what my mittens morphed into.

That is Pebbles, a toy fox terrier. I just couldn’t help it, she was just shivering so much. At one point she came over to me, sniffed my knitting bag and then crawled inside and curled up in my yarn. BTW, her sweater wasn’t much bigger than my mitten would have been and there is still plenty left over for my mittens. 😉

8 Responses to Mittens! Foiled again…

  1. Emily says:

    Awwww! So cute!

  2. brogansmomma says:

    Cute! And so gracious of you. LOL

  3. Casey says:

    SUPER CUTE! And very innovative!

  4. I'm the Mom says:

    Kewl! You knit a chiwawa! I’ll bet you could make money with that trick!

  5. Awww… sounds like a great use of yarn to me!

  6. Gigi says:

    That is soooo good! Beats the old flannel shirt sleeve we used to put on our doxxi Rufus. So stylish!

  7. Brigitte says:

    Aw, what a sweet gesture! I know it must have helped her… Poor little Pebbles…

Leave a Reply

