Christmas in NY

We spent a really nice Christmas in NY with family. We had a white Christmas too, but then it rained and it all washed away.

I didn’t finish all of my knitted gifts for Christmas so I have a few IOU’s I am finishing up. I really can’t wait to knit something for myself. I do this every year and then I spend most of December tired and grumpy, rather than enjoying my favorite holiday. I have to stop doing this to myself. I joined the Christmas 2009 Ravelry group and started a list of Christmas presents for next year.

I also did a lot of sewing for Christmas which landed me in the Chiropractors the day before we left for NY. I have to say I’m relieved that it’s over, no more deadlines. I can breath easy for a bit.

It was Finnigan’s first Christmas and he was such a delight! He really got into the tearing open presents

Hmmm, what is it Big Sissy?

Hmmm, what is it Big Sissy?

…and then eating the wrapping paper.

Oh mom, not everything is from China and has lead in it!

Oh mom, not everything is from China and has lead in it!

The Monkey got her very first sewing machine from her Grandparents. She’s much more excited than she looks in this picture.

Ah, we are entering the teen years, don't smile for the camera, that would be uncool.

I will probably be giving her my sewing table and moving myself over to my Grandma B’s desk. We have a “just the girls” trip to JoAnn’s planned.

It was a great, crazy, fun trip. We had a wonderful Christmas!

Well Ive heard of a monkey on your back, but a hedgehog?

Well I've heard of a monkey on your back, but a hedgehog?

And a wee picture of Finn and his very first Christmas present. We had a Christmas party for our small group bible study and one of the couples that attends gave him a little stuffed Pooh.

I gotted me a Pooh Bear mama!

I gotted me a Pooh Bear mama!

7 Responses to Christmas in NY

  1. Jane says:

    Looks like a really fun Christmas. And look how big Finn is getting!

  2. Brigitte says:

    Hi Finn! You’re just so cute, and I love your pictures with the Monkey! I’m glad you had a wonderful first Christmas.

    🙂

  3. Wow, what a great gift (the sewing machine). I got one when I was about Monkey’s age, and was totally not expecting it. 🙂

    I too have two IOU gifts.

  4. Cynthia says:

    Happy New Year Tracey and family! Looks like you all had a wonderful time. Hope the monkey enjoys her sewing machine. My sister and I got sewing machines in our teen years and used the heck out of them.

    Let me know where the Hitchhiker ends up – it’d be fun to keep up with it. Have you started test driving any spinning wheels yet?

  5. I can’t wait to see what she sews up!

    Sounds like you guys had a wonderful holiday season. I hope that 2009 treats your family wonderfully.

    Finn is so big!

  6. Chris says:

    Looks like a lovely time was had by all!

  7. Keana says:

    He is getting so big! Her first sewing machine! How great!

Leave a Reply

