The Party & The Presents

It’s amazing how fast a year goes by. Monday was Finny’s birthday and we had a wonderful time. Our family decided to do a handmade/frugal birthday theme. I made the party decorations with construction paper and cookie cutters of dinosaurs and stars. I made Finny’s cake too. To top it all off we each made him a present. Travis made him a gorgeous rocking horse, I made him some bean bags and an elephant (UFO, I know, bad mama), and big sissy made him a piggy bank using an old jar. On to the incredibly picture heavy post!

Guests arrived at 6:30 and we lost no time getting right into the birthday party spirit with the cake!

Not bad for my first birthday cake in about 5 years.

Not bad for my first birthday cake in about 5 years.

It was devil’s food with raspberry buttercream frosting. Mmmmm. Yeah, very mmmm.

Why are all you people singing at me?

"Why are all you people singing at me?"

Seriously, you have to wonder what they are thinking. All these people singing and staring at you while you stuff cake and icing in your mouth. Blowing out the candle

Blowing out the candle

Finny happened to be teething (what a lousy birthday present) that night so he wasn’t feeling particularly up to snuff, but it didn’t stop him from enjoying that birthday cake.

Mmmmmm, Ill say that again, mmmmmm.

Mmmmmm, I'll say that again, mmmmmm.

Now wash it all down with some cold milk.

Now wash it all down with some cold milk.

After the cake we opened presents, but not before taking a bath in the kitchen sink in front of everyone so we could get this kid “uncaked”. My son is a voyer, he loves taking bath’s in the kitchen sink when there is company. Last week he took a bath in the sink while a Mary Kay party was going on and my kitchen was full of women. I’ll bet once he can walk he’ll be a streaker.

What do you mean I cant stay in the tub?

What do you mean I can't stay in the tub?

On to the presents! We crammed a lot of people into our teeny living room. I was really surprised that we managed to do it. Although it got pretty hot and muggy after a bit.

Family and Friends

Family and Friends

OK, the handmade prezzies! Daddy’s beautiful rocking horse. Perfectly sized for a wee little lad. I am ridiculously proud of Travis, this little rocking horse will be handed down to quite a few babies in this family.

Where do you put the quarter on this thing?

"Where do you put the quarter on this thing?"

The um, Elephant isn’t finished yet (yeah, yeah, yeah) but, my handmade bean bags were a big hit…with the adults. Finn actually likes them quite a bit too.

Bean bags for the Bean

Bean bags for the Bean

Its all fun and games until someone...you know the rest.

It's all fun and games until someone...you know the rest.

And of course Big Izzy’s coin bank which will be filled with coins once the wee animal crackers disappear. Lovely job Big Izzy!

Too bad the US Currency isnt animal crackers

Too bad the US Currency isn't animal crackers

Shortly after opening up Daddy’s lovely rocking horse…well…

I think we may need a barn...

I think we may need a barn...

The hubby’s Aunt and Uncle bought this for Finnigan and shortly after I told them how Travis was making a rocking horse for him. They figured he could use this one when he gets bigger. He loves both of them already, he was rocking on the one his Daddy made and tugging on this ones ear at the same time.

Another fun present…remember the Little People Barn set? This is the new more modern version. Ah, good times.

Mooooo

Mooooo

Finny received some lovely gifts from family and friends, but more importantly we had a great evening together celebrating Finnigan’s first birthday. I still can’t believe he’s one. We really loved our frugal birthday party and the whole handmade gifts from each other. We have decided that we will continue with this tradition for our birthdays. We figure the kid’s grandparents give them money/clothes/toys. We liked how special and personal our gift giving was.

8 Responses to The Party & The Presents

  1. Chris says:

    Looks like a blast!! Gorgeous cake, too. Hee hee – at my niece’s first birthday party, we stripped her down to the diaper before giving her cake. Made for speedy washing after. 🙂

  2. Brigitte says:

    I had a Little People Barn set! That set is awesome! Wow Finny, you had the best party every, I only wish I could have been there.

    That is a great Piggy Bank too! Izzy must be a pretty cool big sister.

    • traceyleezle says:

      She IS the bestest big sister. I can’t wait for her to get home from school every day. Mama and I wait for her outside on the porch now that the weather is nice and as soon as I see that big yellow bus coming I get so excited, Big Izzy is home!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Yeah! You are still here. Kept checking to see for new posts and now there are some. 🙂

    The party looked like big fun and your little guy is so cute!

  4. Happy Belated Birthday to Finny–I can’t believe it’s been a year! The party looks awesome! : )

Leave a Reply

