Apparently…I’m 30

So I turned 30 this past Saturday. Apparently my birthday is cursed, but not too badly. My mother was coming down for the weekend and we were going to go camping in Gettsyburg…until we found out it’s Biker’s Week in Gettysburg. Camps were full and noisy. Civil War battlefields and motorcycles…I don’t see the connection.

From then on every thing else we came up with to do was doomed to fail. Camping in Maryland:  Mom didn’t wan’t to drive an hour away. Pennsylvania Rennaisance Fair:  Doesn’t start until August. Baltimore Aquarium:  Saturdays in July are their busiest time of the year. Water park:  couldn’t find one close and too expensive. Saturday came and we packed a picnic lunch and went to our favorite State Park for lunch and swimming. Ate lunch got in the water and it started thundering and raining. Crap.

We ended the evening going to a local Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar for hibachi. It was really a blast. Mom and the Monkey had never done hibachi so it was a new experience for them. Finny loved it too. Especially the cooking of his favorite vegetable, trees (also commonly known as broccoli). Two of us had cameras and didn’t take a single picture. We were too busy enjoying the delicious food. Alls well that ends well.

Wednesday was Stitch n’ Bitch. The gang got me a gift certificate for JoAnn’s as I have been sewing a bunch lately. They also made me a glorious birthday hat. It’s an emerging tradition in our group to make atrocious birthday hats for one another. I must say they are getting better? more gawdy? worse? with each birthday.

It also has my name in gold glitter, but you can’t see it in the photos.

Casey my dear, whilst spending my birthday gift I found some excellent fodder for your birthday hat. Be afraid dear, be very afraid. Dave call me, I have ideas.

6 Responses to Apparently…I’m 30

  1. Chris says:

    Happy birthday, you youngster! The birthday hat is a very scary tradition. 🙂

  2. In spite of the difficulties, it looks like you had a grand birthday! : )

  3. Happy Birthday girl! Sounds like you had a great day, even though it was hard to plan.
    btw that is some bad had harry. 😉

Leave a Reply

