Conquering Fears (pics of a blood draw)

As some of you know, I am studying (albeit at a snails pace) to be a midwife. This is something that I am taking my time at because our family comes first and we are still growing as a family. Midwifery is a call that I will take once our family is done growing and well established. Anywho…

This evening my midwife/best friend came over to draw labs on me to check my antibodies. To make a long story short, we didn’t do it. I have minuscule tiny non-existent veins. When they say someone has tiny spaghetti veins…meh, I have angel hair pasta in my arms. So we discussed the risks and whether or not it was a problem last time, if Travis was negative, etc. and came up with another course of action.

Well, we still had the needle and everything there unused and ready to go so she asked if I wanted to do a blood draw on her. This is something I am going to have to learn to do to be a midwife, it goes with the territory. I told her no way, and then proceeded to ask questions about how you do it. We talked about it and she walked me through all the steps:  putting on the tourniquet, feeling for a vein, how to put the tube on, etc.  right up to the actual “poke” and I said no thanks and chickened out. Later, after Finny went to bed I did it. I just did it, I didn’t try and over think it. I missed the vein on the first poke by a fraction, but got it on my second poke. She was very impressed and said I did a great job, she said she didn’t feel the pokes and that I did such a nice job she wouldn’t have any bruising at all. I did go through the vein when I got it so it was a slow fill, but other than that I did great.

It was so much easier than I thought it would be. Really it’s all a mental, “oh my gosh I’m stabbing someone” hurtle. I was so scared that I was going to hurt her or that I would feel some resistance and then a pop or something when I put the needle in, but there was nothing. It really is quite like slicing through butter. The needles are so sharp for that reason. I can’t tell you how proud I am. This was a HUGE hurtle for me, and may have even lessened my anxiety over having my own blood drawn. I can’t wait to do it again. Next time she said I could do her other arm which is a little harder to find a vein. Honestly, I think that’s the hardest part is just finding the vein with your finger.

Anyway, this was a huge accomplishment for me and I thought I would share. On to the pics!

Getting ready! (oops, forgot my gloves)

And whalla! I did it!

One Response to Conquering Fears (pics of a blood draw)

  1. traceyleezle says:

    Dear Lord I DO look like a barn!

Leave a Reply

