Filthy Stinkin’ Rich

Yep, you read right, filthy stinkin’ rich. Who is? We are. Oh yeah! Let me break it down for you…

My husband works at a small business making peanuts. We live on a very strict, yet manageable budget. We own one car, a small house with a reasonable mortgage. We need a minivan, but can’t afford a car payment. We are a paycheck to paycheck family. I feed a family of five people on $100 a week. According to the U.S. Government we are flat broke, I’m pretty sure we fall in the poverty level category. No middle class at our house.  Brokity-broke-broke-broke! And yet…

We are healthy! Including Finnigan who’s bone is healing up great. We have a beautiful house that used to be my husband’s grandmother’s and it has the most gorgeous Christmas tree in it right now. I am madly in love with my awesome, super hot husband, who also happens to feel the same way about me. I have a tall, smart, beautiful, and very funny teenage daughter who just rocks my world. I have a two year old who melts my heart every time he says, “Yes please mama” or “No thank you mama” or “I sorry” and cracks me up with his silly ways. I have an adorable little six month old boy who drives me batty with his awful sleeping habits, yet whose smile literally takes up his whole face and just loves a good snuggle.

I am able to enjoy my favorite hobbies:  knitting, visiting with friends and family, going out to lunch or dinner with them on occasion. I have clothes on my back and fuel oil in the tank and good healthy food in my fridge. So yes, we are filthy stinkin’ rich here at this house, yup, you heard me. We are rolling in good fortune, or to be more precise, God’s prosperity. I really do feel loved by my Father and so does my family. I’m just really feeling it today and thought I would share.

 

5 Responses to Filthy Stinkin’ Rich

  1. MissaB26 says:

    You are rich. You have figured out your priorities and I’ll admit I’m a little jealous that I didn’t figure it out in time. Enjoy them and love them, through this season and year-round. (And a wonderful pic!)

    • traceyleezle says:

      I agree with the figuring out priorities. Travis and I decided very early in our relationship that the American Dream wasn’t something either of us was interested in, hence the job that pays peanuts. The hours however, are very conducive to being there to actually be a part of our kids lives.

      • MissaB26 says:

        I was naive enough to think that if my financials were secure the rest would follow. Don’t get me wrong, I have had some wonderful opportunities and done things I never imagined I would do. But you can’t buy what’s in that photo. Cherish it.

  2. I'm the Mom says:

    Amen! God answers prayer in wonderful ways! 🙂

  3. Jane says:

    Taking a little time today to catch up with you. I have to say, this post is the best thing I’ve read in a long time. You certainly are rich – and I LOVE the photo, too.

Leave a Reply

