Phew, it’s finally done!

I want to write something profound about 2010, or at the very least mildly humorous, but I find myself at a loss for words. Those of you that know me, know that in itself is something rare. Honestly, I’m just glad it’s done. There were some wonderful moments during 2010, Seannan’s birth for one. On a whole though, it kind of left me feeling, well, trampled. As much as I hate to admit it, a few of the “trampelings” were preventable. I would really like to see a few practical changes happen in 2011. I won’t call them resolutions, that seems like the kiss of death that these changes won’t happen.

So, here goes, my list of not-resolutions for 2011:

Stick to our budget, every week, every month. We have a budget and it works, but it only works as long as we stick to it. This budget allows for money to be put into savings, it allows for us to give to church and other charities. It even allows for dates and trips to the movies with the family, but only if we actually stick with it.

Blog every day, with at least one picture every day. I have received many compliments on my writing, but really, a blog is just so much better with pictures. I am absolutely horrible with baby books and journals, but do much better with the electronic interface. It’s faster. My mind is terrible with remembering details. Elizabeth will mention something from when she was little and it will take some serious brain jogging to remember it. I don’t want to lose the details of my children’s childhoods. I want to remember the day that Finny climbed up on the futon (cast and all), put his head in my lap to watch tv and when I looked down fifteen minutes later he was sleeping so sweetly. I want to remember that, but I know I wont in a year or two. This blog has been a wonderful way to share my blessed life here in PA with my family. I want to get back into the habit of sharing.

I am overweight. Now don’t get me wrong, I think I am a beautiful woman (so does my husband, much to the displeasure of our friends who have to watch us together). I like being ” a big girl”. I think there is something inherently sexy about larger women who are comfortable in their own skin. I don’t, however, like diabetes which runs rampantly on my father’s side. I don’t like heart disease, high blood pressure, and high cholesterol, also things I have a genetic predisposition for. I see too many family members in their late fifties or sixties who are now needing medicine for the above mentioned because of lifestyles when they were younger. Our family does pretty good with our eating, but I am lousy when it comes to exercise. This is so stupid of me too because I have a ton of metal in my right leg which usually causes me a great deal of pain and terrible atrophy. With some very easy and consistent exercise I have a leg that actually carries it’s own weight, and I mean that literally. So, exercise, every day, for a minimum of fifteen minutes.

Work my grocery budget for all it’s worth! We have a family of 5 to feed and $100 a week to do it with. That is getting harder and harder lately. In 2011 I want to plan out my meals for each week and bake my own bread every week. Homemade bread tastes better, is better for you, is ridiculously cheap, and is really easy to make. I was in the habit of baking our own bread before Seannan was born. Need to do it again. Plus the house smells amazing! Planning out my meals each week will allow me to consciously watch my grocery spending and really stretch meals out.

Grow a vegetable garden. I am so sick to death of trying to get anything to grow in that terrible slop out in our backyard that passes for dirt. It’s not topsoil, it’s clay, shale, and pebbles. No amount of work is going to change that into good lomy topsoil. This year, I am building a small raised bed garden. If all goes well, I will build another one the next year. I have no problem working from raised beds. In fact, they are easier to weed and maintain. This will also help out the above mentioned grocery budget as there will be veggies in the freezer and less produce to buy during the summer months.

And finally, but most importantly, I want to get back to reading my bible every day and praying more. I have been through a huge test of my faith over the past year and a half. I feel as though I am finally coming out the other side of that. Many beliefs have been stripped away until I am left standing with what’s the most important. Now I want to grow spiritually, the only way I can do that is to be active in my faith. All the other things I have mentioned above hinge on this as well. “I can do all things, through Christ who strengthens me.”

Simple changes that will lead to real joy, and yet is any change really simple? Breaking out of habit, getting out of our rut to do something new. If it were that simple, we would have no need for New Year’s resolutions. I am looking forward to 2011, and all that it has in store for us. Goodbye 2010, don’t let the door hit ya where the good Lord split ya!

Rudy has requested more kitty petting in 2011

4 Responses to Phew, it’s finally done!

  1. pam says:

    life happens one day at a time…
    and sometimes we are so in the past, or in the future, that today is a blur.
    it is hard with little ones to do more than move and care for them.
    it is hard to find time for the self.
    take care of yourself,,,
    write, knit and dance each day!
    blessings for the wonder of this new year!

  2. Casey says:

    You know who’s probably AWESOME at helping with gardens? Little boys who like to dig in the dirt. I say we put ’em to work helping out — no reason to do this non-resolution stuff alone.

    PS, we can be mutual cheerleader-slash-bottomkickers for each other.

  3. Laura says:

    Good luck with the raised veggie bed. I build a couple last year and they were definitely better than my usual garden. If you want a book that helps you get the most out of a raised bed, there is one called Square Foot Gardening. I bought it and was amazed how much you can cram into a smallish garden. It also gives a good “recipe” for garden soil.

    Good luck with all your resolutions!

  4. gigi says:

    Gardens are wonderful exercise places! Ours did really well this past year with Grandpa checking on things and squirting his “kickapoo joy juice” on plants.[those who read ‘lil Abner’ probably know of another ‘joy’ juice] I bought another freezer last Spring and both are full to the top from homegrown veggies! How come what I’m looking for is always on the bottom? ? ? ?

Leave a Reply

