Dear hormones

Dear hormones,

Apparently you heard through the grapevine that we have decided three children is a great family and we think we are done…for now. When I say “for now” I mean that we aren’t doing anything permanent to prevent more Durfs coming into this world, but at this point in our family’s life, we are quite happy and just the right size. If God, in his infinite wisdom/outrageous sense of humor decides to grant us more children or if we start to feel that the house just needs another baby in it a few years down the road, well, we aren’t going to say no. You did get that message right? OK, good, then will you please stop implanting crazy dreams in my head at night about giving birth, or making me feel all mushy because there most likely will not be a Rena Grace (oh wow, I think that one actually caused me physical pain to type it), and please stop turning my ovaries into jello every time I see a new baby and hear those marvelous brand-new-baby coos or see a lovely radiant pregnant belly. Yeah, if you could turn the hormone IV down to a slow drip I’d greatly appreciate it.

Best regards,

Tracey’s subconcious

3 Responses to Dear hormones

  1. I'm the Mom says:

    I won’t remind you of all the things you said to me after Seannan was born … or after Finn was born.

    This, too, shall pass.

    • traceyleezle says:

      Nothing was said after Finn was born, just Seannan and you can’t tell me you wouldn’t be over the moon if there was a little girl with your name in your arms someday.

  2. Casey says:

    I think we must be sharing a hormone bubble. Egads!

Leave a Reply

