A party to die for!

Hmm, scratch that, party to dye for. Yes, that is what happened here at my house today. I was up at 8:00 a.m. preparing for my guests. At 11:00 people started showing up and we got things going. (A funny note, I have learned that no matter what I do or say, people from SnB show up for events half an hour earlier, so if I want people here at 11:00, I tell them the party starts at 11:30, which is what I did). There was incredibly delicious food including B’s potato soup. I have to pause here for a moment as I am suddenly filled with an overwhelming desire to drive to her house and demand the leftovers. Casey made scrumptious finger sandwiches (when did this group get so fancy?) and Crystal provided a lovely green salad. I made delectable red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. It was, well, decadent really.

Prior to lunching I ran a communal bath in my bath tub…for the yarn, for the yarn, people! I sloshed a good bit of vinegar in and we all put our yarn to be dyed into it to presoak while we ate. After dining the dyeing began. There was a good representation of materials as well as dye processes at the party. Acid dyes and food coloring (Wilton) were used. Kettle and hand dye were the processes. Cotton, wool, and silk, were the fibers used. There were many beautiful finished results too. Unfortunately, the only person taking pictures of the actual party was our resident professional photographer extraordinaire, Casey. So, you will have to be content with the pictures of all of my lovely goodies that resulted from the party.

All of my dyed goodies

 

My yarn, Dave's gorgeous dye job. Thank you Dave.

 

I'm calling it Tequila Sunrise

 

I don't know why, but this reminds me of my old Tropical Fun Barbie's bathing suit.

 

Just beautiful

 

This one was kettle dyed as an after thought with the dye bath left over from my fingering weight yarn.

 

This picture shows the color truer, it's a heathered juniper green, tossed into the dye bath after nearly all the dye had been exhausted.

 

This one was my favorite, kettle dyed, the different shades of green are amazing!

 

A close up of some of the greens.

 

This was so hard to photograph the true colors...you have to see it in person.

 

Mmmm, more green. Those light spots are actually the palest lavender.

 

This is a mawata (silk hankie, or bell) that was died using one single food color: black, pretty cool huh?

 

Another mawata, these will both be made into mittens ala Stephanie Pearl McPhee.

Some of the dyers stayed for a wee after party that involved pizza, boardgames and a bottle of wine. It was great fun and made for a long day. I literally collapsed after all was said and done. At the end of the day I forgot how fantastic it feels to sit and not be on your feet.

 

Dave and Seannan. Dave was quite thrilled that Seannan was not crying. I just thought the pair was adorable.

One Response to A party to die for!

  1. OMG! The yarns and rovings are gorgeous!! To “dye” for!hehehe. I gotta go get my pots and dyes now!

Leave a Reply

