Be there in the end

It’s late and I have seven minutes to get this in under the wire. Just wanted to update you really quick on the bible reading. My small group bible study is actually reading the bible in 90 days. So far it’s going well. I nearly cried in the gym tonight. For those of you who don’t know the old testament story of Joseph. He was a daddy’s boy whose brothers sold him into slavery (which is pretty good because their first thought was to just kill him) and then told dear ‘ol Dad that he’d been eaten by a wild animal. Well, it turns out that he becomes Pharaoh’s right hand man and ends up saving his family (and all of Egypt) from starving to death during a famine. His father sends his brother’s to Egypt to buy grain during the famine, Joseph recognizes them, but they don’t recognize him. When he finally tells them who he is, he insists that they go back and bring his father and their families and live on the best land of Egypt. So, picture this for a moment. You lost your favorite son to wild animals long ago when he was just a boy. Your other sons come back from Egypt to tell you that he’s really alive and is second only to Pharaoh himself. Can you imagine the joy? Can you imagine it?  Here is the part that makes me teary eyed every time I read it. Joseph’s father is a very old man at this point and knows he’s not going to be around for many more years. On his way to Egypt to be reunited with his son, God appears to him and says,

“I am God, the God of your father,” he said. “Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for I will make you into a great nation there. 4 I will go down to Egypt with you, and I will surely bring you back again. And Joseph’s own hand will close your eyes.”

What  a comfort, to know that the son you considered lost for so long ago, will be with you as you pass from this life into the next.

2 Responses to Be there in the end

  1. Amy says:

    The other thing that is beautiful about that story is the forgiveness that Joseph had for his brothers. I’m not sure, if my sister had sold me into slavery years before, I’d be so quick to forgive her and invite her and her family to live with us in Egypt. So yea, Joseph’s act of forgiveness always touches me.

Leave a Reply

