If I were rich, I’d be eccentric

I have bumper stickers on my car that read, “Support Your Local Midwife” and “Happiness is a homeborn baby”, this would also be the car that has electro music and bass pounding out of it whenever it is sans small children. If I could I would wear dresses ever day of the year. If I also had the time I would wear cat’s eye, eye make up every day of the year.  I’m chopping my sweet hair cut off this weekend to get a faux hawk. I really wanted to dye it a crazy color like red or teal, but I’m too busy (read lazy there) to keep up with the roots. I swear, yep, I do. I don’t curse though because cursing is sinful where as swearing is just bad manners. Go ahead, ask me the difference… I pray to God all the time, in fact I have plenty of conversations with Him out loud through out my day. I will never forward or post one of those asinine messages by email or Facebook that say if you love God/Jesus you will post this as your status or email it to every person you ever received an email from. Yes, I will delete it, every time. I think God would rather you get off your lazy butt and go help someone than send an impotent email. (Gosh Trace, bitter much?) I like bright colored nail polish, even black. I love make up and dyeing my hair. I have so many things in my life that I love, that normally wouldn’t pair up with some of the other loves in my life. Hippie bumper stickers with crazy, loud techno music, for one.

I love my husband. A lot. Like a lot, a lot. I love my children. A lot. Like a lot, a lot. I love to cook, bake, and can. I love to host dinner parties for my friends, simply for the fact that it’s an excuse to do two of my favorite things, hang with my friends and eat. I like vodka tonics and wine. I’m actually going to be making my own wine here soon. Very excited about that. I’m not a big drinker. I love high heels, but rarely wear them anymore. I have 9 chickens that I love dearly. I knit, I spin. I’m well read, and want to learn as much as I can. I love people, all kinds of people. I don’t care what color your skin is, or what sex you decide to fall in love with or how many tattoos or piercings you have, or even if you are a tea party republican. If you are nice, I will probably think you are just the coolest thing since sliced bread. I try to live in a manner that my God would find pleasing. I also know that I’m a horribly flawed human and that’s why I need Him in the first place. I’m no better, or worse, than anyone else on this big blue ball.

I like myself. I always have. I’m one of those people who is actually pretty comfortable with themselves. Mom having cancer has made my head split open with all the stuff floating around inside it. I’ve been doing so much “deep” thinking lately. There are so many silly little things I want to do in my lifetime, things that are totally doable and things that probably would take more money than I have and some major planning. So, for now, I’m going to stop giving a crap about others’ opinions (a flaw that I really don’t like about myself) and start doing the things I’ve always wanted to do. Providing they don’t hurt someone else. I don’t have many aspirations that would. Besides, who cares if my hair is teal and all mohawk-y if it makes me happy! I’m an odd little duck and I really like all of my crazy. Every last bit of it.

One Response to If I were rich, I’d be eccentric

  1. Linda says:

    God bless your courage, strength and insight. May you never lose it. And from an old broad who grew up in the hippie era (but never got to be; too many young responsibilities), “Keep on Truckin’ ” !!

    p.s. Please send pix of the new hairdo!

Leave a Reply

