Rain, rain…please stay

It’s raining here today. Heavy, light, drizzly, it changes every now and then. I love it. It makes me want to wander around the house in my underwear and drink coffee. It makes me want to bake bread and cookies with the kids. It makes me want to sleep and write in my journal and read and do sudoku. It makes me want to knit and watch chic flicks all day. It is a beautiful and welcome respite from the oppressive heat of summer. I wish it would rain all week. There is something about rain that makes you slow down a bit. It’s the light dim and dark, and yet soft and welcoming. I love August rain. For some reason it makes me feel better. It’s like God is saying, “Don’t worry, Autumn is coming. Here is a preview.” I love Autumn. I get restless like a squirrel in Autumn. I start canning and freezing and baking everything in site. It’s not here yet, but it will be, sooner than I care to admit.

And don’t worry, I will put my clothes on before I start baking with the kids.

The haircut. I love it. It is my most favorite haircut ever. I feel like a fourth grader saying that, but it is! It is just beyond fun.

6 Responses to Rain, rain…please stay

  1. turtlemade says:

    Yay for rain! I have some here today as well and my day has completely slipped by in a lazy daze.

  2. I'm the Mom says:

    Okay, I’m getting used to your hair cut and it’s funky. I liked the first one better, but it’s your hair. You are now coming up for the third weekend in a row. DON’T do anything else to your hair or you will be bald. You haven’t been bald since you were one year old.

    Love, Mom 🙂

  3. Linda says:

    I love your new hair cut! Soooo cute!! You look so young! Wishing you many beautiful, calming summer rains.

Leave a Reply

