Thoughts on colds

I have a cold.

Compared to many I’ve had in the past this one is very mild. Yet, why is it colds have the ability to reduce us to rubble? Turn grown men into whining babies. Turn whining babies into…even whinier babies. Such an incredibly tiny thing turns our worlds inside out for a week, or more. Of course, it doesn’t matter what we do, you’re still going to be miserable for at least a week.

We have all kinds of concoctions you can buy to lessen the symptoms, but of course with that comes a myriad of side effects. So you can be miserable and not breath, or be miserable and breathing and dried out and wonky feeling on top of that. I have always preferred not to take any over the counter medicines. I’ve found my cold is shorter and is less likely to come back anytime soon. I’ve always been a fan of the more natural approach:  vaporizers, neti pot, lots and lots of tea with honey, echinacea and goldenseal, a huge pot of homemade chicken soup, lots of rest, and when the throat is really sore and sleep eludes me, the hot toddie. I’m sure as soon as my mother reads this, she will tell you about her bottle of blackberry brandy that is for medicinal purposes only. No really, it is.

The hiccup I’ve run into over the past few years in this plan is the rest part. With two toddlers in the house, rest is hard to come by. This gets even harder when the kids are sick as well. You would think they would also want to rest. I’ve seen Finnigan ripping around with a 102 temp. How do they do that? When I have a fever I don’t want to move, even the sheets feel uncomfortable! Where is the nanny service that will come and tend your sick children so you can rest? Today, that nanny service is a huge pile of pillows and blankets on the living room floor and Netflix Watch Instantly. There will be children rolling and playing in it and somewhere underneath I will be huddled with my tissue box.

2 Responses to Thoughts on colds

  1. Mom says:

    Sorry to hear that you have two snotty nosed kids to take care of when you’re not feeling well either. Hope Dad and Sissie can avoid it. Nana and Papa were just here for a short visit and to pick up a bowl of tapioca pudding for Aunt Carol. I have my appointment for colonoscopy set for the 12th of October. Will have to remember to make me a bowl of tapioca on the 11th. A brown egg today so must be another hen has decided to lay. Will maybe buy one more dozen at Frog Pond and let the ‘girls’ take it from there. Love ya. Gigi

  2. I'm the Mom says:

    It is for medicinal purposes – Dr. Dygert told me it was better for me than those medicines that cover multiple symptoms and the guy at the liquor store said he sells more blackberry brandy during cold & flu season than any other time. Millions of people can’t be wrong!

Leave a Reply

