Fan Girl

Ugh, I am utterly disgusted with myself. Sort of. Kind of. Okay, not really. Mildly embarrassed is more accurate. Here’s the thing, remember when you were a giddy teenage girl and you used to get silly, crazy crushes on celebrities? You know, cover your wall with posters, buy stupid teen magazines plastered with cute heart throbs? Admit it, you did. Well, I still get crazy, stupid fan girl crushes on celebrities. Oh, it’s so ridiculous! Gone are the days of poster plastering and Teen Beat, but I’m still crushing hardcore on some celebrity at any given moment. It usually has a lot to do with whatever television series I’m currently wrapped up in or music I’m in to at the moment. I’m 32 years old. I’m happily married. I have three gorgeous children. Why am I so prone to the fan girl crush? It’s so incredibly…stupid.

And yet, I find it funny. I have to say, this is one opportunity where I really get to laugh at myself. A lot. Actually, now that I mention it, I give myself plenty of opportunities to laugh at myself, but that’s another blog post altogether. It’s harmless, and I have to admit, I am a fickle fan girl. Sorry hunky celebrities, you’ll probably be dumped when I finish watching one tv series and start another. It’s only a matter of time. I’m sure you’ll get over me and one day find the fan girl who’s right for you.

The other thing that I find incredibly humorous about myself is the type of celebrities I’m attracted too. George Clooney? Nah. Brad Pitt? Mmm, no thanks, not my type. I’m attracted to geeks, or guys who play a geek. The geekier the better. Take James Patterson, who plays Sheldon from the hit tv series, The Big Bang Theory (the entire show is like a geek lovers buffet!). Gorgeous!

Dr. Sheldon "Moon Pie" Cooper

Anywho, it seems the geekier they are the better, but not always. I seem to go all fan girl over the ones that don’t necessarily fit the definitive “heart throb” category.

Oh, and in case any of you were wondering who my current massive fan girl heart attack is, it’s this young man here (I think I may have entered cougar territory on this one, not sure what the age requirement is to be a cougar). (I have just confirmed this evening with a friend, I am NOT in danger of being a cougar, phew!)

Heart throb? No, heart wob! Wob, wob, wobble, wobble!

That, ladies and gentlemen, is Sonny Moore, more commonly known as Skrillex, a dubstep genius. As well as being my favorite eye candy, he is most definitely my favorite ear candy and has been for a while now. He’s a dubstep genius, booming onto the techno music map with his incredible drops and signature sound. I am loving dupstep, but Skrillex’ sound and style is by far my favorite. Plus it doesn’t hurt that he’s smokin’ hot. And did I mention he’s short? As most of you that know me (and my smokin’ hot hubby) know, I kinda have a thing for short guys.

Workin' hard

Teen fan girls make me nuts too, insipid, clingy, vapid, immature. Ugh. While I don’t fit into the standard fan girl stereo type, I will admit, I stand guilty as charged. Fan girl? Pffft, I prefer fan woman. Yep.

6 Responses to Fan Girl

  1. turtlemade says:

    Interesting. Never heard of Skrillex before today, but I’ve just gone to YT to hear “Scary Monsters & Nice Sprites” in two different speeds. What would you say is your favorite work of his?

    • traceyleezle says:

      Oh geeze, I don’t know. Of his work, my favorite is probably Kill Everybody or Equinox or Father Said. Of his remixes, I love what he’s done to Gaga’s Alejandro. Some very sexy beats. It’s really hard to narrow it down to one. I just love his musical style over all.

  2. turtlemade says:

    I’m definitely loving what I’m hearing, thank you for the exposure!

  3. turtlemade says:

    He has a bit too much energy for me. I’ll happily listen to his beats while you do…whatever it is that you want to do…to him πŸ˜€

  4. I can totally understand being a fan girl over James Patterson. He’s super smart and funny.

Leave a Reply

