Dear Grandma B

Hi Grandma. Just thought I’d check in and see how things are going in heaven. We miss you down here. We’ve been talking about you lately, quite a bit actually. Mostly we’ve been discussing your wonderful mittens and your favorite tea. When I think of you, I have this mental picture of you standing behind Jesus holding a sweater up to his back to gauge if it will fit him or not and then telling him he’ll grow into it. Only you are both in your old apartment on Watson St. Apparently heaven is either a teensy apartment or wherever your grandma is. Who knows, maybe it’s both. I have a feeling it won’t be anything like our pale human preconceived notions of heaven. Anywho.

I just wanted to tell you I love you. I think of you often. Your picture sits on my round table in my living room and I glance at it whenever I have my needles in hand. I wish you could see how much your gift has meant to me through the years. I hope one day to hang your picture in my own yarn shop. You and Gigi will have your own “wall of fame”.

Today I am making a couple of pairs of mittens in your honor. Aunt Peg and Cousin Amy and I were talking about your great mittens the other day. I remember getting a pair each year for Christmas. You made mittens for all of us. I remember at the Besemer family Christmas at Aunt Bev’s. I miss those get togethers. They were the only time of year I got to see that side of my family. When you passed, we all talked of those Christmas’s and how we needed to do that again. Well, we haven’t. Ah, good intentions. I’m sitting here trying to figure out how many pairs of mittens you made a year. You must have knit a pair every week. More probably, you were always knitting for the church bazaar as well.

So when I get to heaven, I hope you have a cup of tea and Yahtzee waiting for me. We have a lot of catching up to do. Sending you big hugs. Tell Jesus I said “Hi” and I’ll talk to him later. I love you and miss you.

Tracey

2 Responses to Dear Grandma B

  1. Gigi says:

    Yes I think of her now and then too. She was a great lady. Gigi

  2. I'm the Mom says:

    Wonderful, Tracey. I hope somehow she will know about your love letter to her.

Leave a Reply

