dear elizabeth

Hey kiddo. Have I told you lately how awesome you are? Have I told you lately how incredibly proud of you I am? And I know I’m not the only one. I’ve watched you grow and with every year I’ve been more astounded at the amazing person that’s evolved. You are smart and I can’t wait to see what you do with your life. Although, I wish time would slow down a bit and let me spend more of it with you. When you are off at college working hard to reach your goals, remember there’s someone here in PA wondering where her baby girl went and trying to figure out how to go about her day without you in it.

If I could give you a small bit of advice it would be this. Don’t worry so much about the beauty on the outside. It’s there, trust me. What makes you really glow, is the beauty on the inside. Nourish that part of you and you’ll be ok. Loving yourself is the hardest thing to do. Also, be kind, especially when kindness isn’t expected. This world is harsh and cruel and mean. It’s easy to be thoughtless and harsh, I know, I’m guilty of it more times than I care to admit. I know that we both have people in our lives that are hard to love, but loving them anyway…it’s a good thing, and it makes you a better person. Forgive people kiddo. I know it’s hard, hell, especially in high school. Take the high road and realize that none of us are perfect, and all of us need to be forgiven. Kindness is rare and ought to be encouraged more. Forgiveness is even rarer. Keep being a kind, loving, and forgiving person.

God, where did my baby go? I look at your two little brothers, and think that just a few days ago, you were toddling around, reaching up to me to be picked up for a snuggle. It’s heart breaking, and wonderful at the same time. I love you, my girl.

2 Responses to dear elizabeth

  1. Going to stop asking for drink warnings and start asking for pregnancy hormone warnings before reading your posts, woman.

  2. unadillabarb says:

    I have these memories of Boo at our house and walking the floors with her, singing silly made-up songs. Where did she go? She’s now taller than me and becoming a most interesting young woman to visit with.

    And then there’s the matter of pictures and trying to figure out if they are of you or Elizabeth. I miss that little toddler as well as I watch her growing and nurturing her family four hours away.

    Love, Mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

