Dear Finnigan

Dear Finnigan,

Today was a hard day for mama. It was full of big grown up things. Decisions that needed to be made, but were scary to make. It was full of phone calls and looking for things on the internet. Mama is sick. Not in the way that you can see. I don’t have a temperature or a runny nose or a cough. I have something that’s not working the way it’s supposed to in my brain. I know that it’s hard to understand, and that some people may treat me differently for saying that, but that’s what it is. Mama decided to take a medicine today that will help me feel better. I don’t like it, but I wouldn’t be a very good mama or a good wife to Daddy or very good to myself if I didn’t. Today was a really hard day for mama. You made it easier. You reminded me that even if I don’t feel like taking care of myself, I have to, for you and Big Sissy, and Little Brother. So thank you. Thank you for the sweet moments that help erase the hard, scary moments. Like when we were snuggling before your nap today, and you gave me one of your blankies. Then you showed me how I was supposed to snuggle it with one hand and you insisted I suck my thumb with the other hand. (I can just hear my parents groaning, no worries, after many years of being off the thumb, I really don’t understand what the big deal was.) It was sweet. You are sweet. I’m going to do everything in my power to take care of myself, so I can take care of you.

Love,

Mama

One Response to Dear Finnigan

  1. turtlemade says:

    Hugs and love, dear. Also kudos to Finnigan.

Leave a Reply

