Would the real Tracey, please stand up

A friend commented to me last night, about how much I have changed since she met me several years ago. And I told her, this is more like the real me, than the person you met back then. It got me thinking, why do I do that? I try so hard to fit in with a certain group of people, or a certain lifestyle. I adapt all these things that just aren’t me, trying so hard to be something I’m not, because I think that’s what someone wants me to be or needs me to be. I keep going until I’m so frustrated and miserable that I blow up, shake it all off, and get back to being me. And the stupid part is, the people that I care about the most, are still there, when all that’s left is Tracey, The Original. The ones that fall away, never really mattered in the first place. It’s so stupid and I do it time and time again. I get so stuck in my own head, and try so hard to press myself into a mold. I just end up making myself miserable.

The thing is, I like me. Granted, I’m not perfect, and there are things about me that I don’t like. That’s normal, and ok, none of us are perfect, we’d all like to make a few changes in our life. I’m just tired of thinking that I need to be someone else, for the people in my life to love me. I’m me, either you like me, or you don’t. It’s time that I realize that, and be ok with it.

5 Responses to Would the real Tracey, please stand up

  1. unadillabarb says:

    I like you, too. You’re a cool gal and fun to be with. When you feel like being different, go get a wig. You pull it on and tada … you’re Glamor Barbie!

  2. onmyneedles says:

    I know I don’t know you very well, but what I do know, I love! I think you’re so much fun and love keeping up with you on here and FB (since I rarely make it to SnB). I’m really thankful that you posted this. I’ve lived my entire life trying to “fit” into a mold of what other people think I should be. It’s only recently that I started coming out of that mold and started not caring what others think. πŸ™‚

    • traceyleezle says:

      Good for you Courtney, I’m finding that the people that matter are still there, and the ones that probably weren’t any good for you to begin with, fall away. And that in itself is often surprising and sometimes heart breaking.

      • onmyneedles says:

        I’m finding the same thing as well πŸ™‚ If people are going to dis me because they don’t like the “real” me, then they’re not worth my time. It definitely can be surprising and heartbreaking. I thank God everyday for helping me realize this and giving me my husband who has helped me with immensely as well!

  3. Pastor Dale says:

    Tracey, I couldn’t have said that better! Why do so many people wear masks? It’s time each of us realizes that only the people who love us unconditionally will always be there for us. I like the real you, the genuine article, the original, too! You go, Girl!

Leave a Reply

